World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


The Promised Messiah

A Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols

By Ian Hare

Be the first! Write a Review

SATB choir, solo, congregation, organ - Intermediate
A Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols. Composed by Ian Hare. Choral, cantatas. Advent, Christmas, Sacred. Choral score. Lorenz Publishing Company #65/1867R. Published by Lorenz Publishing Company (LO.65-1867R).

Item Number: LO.65-1867R

This carol service is based on the traditional service held each Christmas Eve in the chapel of King's College in Cambridge, England. Nine entirely new arrangements of carols and hymns are included in this work, along with five original settings. Philip Ledger, the guiding influence behind this service, was the Director of Music at King's College from 1974 to 1982, during which time he was the principal caretaker of this world-famous Christmas celebration. Along with his own efforts, Ledger has called upon four other esteemed British composers for new material: John Sanders, Ian Hare, Francis Jackson, and Philip Moore. This is a complete service, with readings included in the publication. A stunning performance recording on CD is also available. It features the Royal Scottish Academy of Music Chorus and Orchestra.

  • Good Christian Men Rejoice 
  • Adam Lay Ybounden 
  • My Dancing Day 
  • What Child Is This 
  • God Rest You Merry Gentlemen 
  • Once In Royal Davids City 
  • Gabriels Message 
  • Joy To The World 
  • Lift Up Your Heads 
  • Jesu Child Of Mary 
  • Angels from the Realms of Glory 
  • Watts Cradle Song 
  • O Come All Ye Faithful 
  • Hark the Herald Angels Sing 
Close X

I am a music teacher.