World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


The First World War (1914-1916)

By Louis Vierne

Be the first! Write a Review

Piano - Level 5
Composed by Louis Vierne (1870-1937). Edited by Olivier Gardon. This edition: urtext edition. Paperback. Complete Piano Works, Volume II. Performance score, anthology. Composed 1914-1916. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA09612).

Item Number: BA.BA09612

ISBN 9790006535835. 31 x 24 cm inches. Text Language: French/English/German. Preface: Helga Schauerte-Maubouet / Olivier Gardon / Jean-Pierre Mazeirat.

With his "Douze Preludes" op. 36 and "Trois Nocturnes" op. 35 composed between 1914 and 1916, Vierne followed in the Romantic piano tradition, whilst lending the historic models that special sound between elegance and expressivity, as is characteristic for French music of the period.

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- A Critical Commentary explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.