World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


The Contemporary Guitar: An Anthology of New Music

By Stanley Yates

Be the first! Write a Review

Guitar (classical) - Intermediate-Advanced
Composed by Stanley Yates. Squareback saddle-stitched, Solos. Stanley Yates Guitar. Classic. Book. Published by Mel Bay Publications, Inc (MB.99527).

Item Number: MB.99527

ISBN 9780786608409. 9 x 11.75 inches.

This collection of new music, written by composers who are or who have been performing guitarists themselves, presents intermediate to advanced concert works that explore the musical and technical diversity of the contemporary guitar. Each composer offers a unique musical and technical perspective of what the contemporary guitar is. The harmonic language ranges from jazz to atonality, the styles vary from blues to minimalism, and the cultural influences span from Eastern European to Celtic. The composers include Delpriora, Gilardino, Hudson, Johanson, Kenyon, Marron, Mearns, Ourkouzounov, Piorkowsky, and Van der Veen. The music is standard notation only.

  • Etude no. 5 from Twelve Etudes  Performed by Mark Delpriora
  • Tambú (fantasy for guitar)  Performed by Mark Delpriora
  • Winterzeit (after Robert Schumann)  Performed by Angelo Gilardino
  • Blues Suite (1. Walking, 2. Mystery, 3. Delta)  Performed by Roger Hudson
  • Variations on a Finnish Folk Song  Performed by Bryan Johanson
  • Caer Meini  Performed by Stephen Kenyon
  • Winter Scenes  Performed by James Marron
  • The Slope  Performed by James Marron
  • Tolkien Gesture (characters and scenes from "The Lord of the Rings")  Performed by Alan Mearns
  • Ostinatoccata  Performed by Atanas Ourkouzounov
  • Uraca  Performed by James Piorkowski
  • Hora  Performed by Derk Van Der Veen
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.