World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


The Concertmaster - Symphonic Classics for Violin and Orchestra

Music Minus One Violin Deluxe 2-CD Set

By Geoffrey Applegate

Be the first! Write a Review

Music Minus One Violin Deluxe 2-CD Set. By Geoffrey Applegate. By Various. Music Minus One. Classical. Softcover with CD. 24 pages. Music Minus One #MMO3118. Published by Music Minus One (HL.400036).

Item Number: HL.400036

ISBN 1596151471. 9x12 inches. Performed by Geoffrey Applegate.

Performed by Geoffrey Applegate, violin

Accompaniment: Stuttgart Symphony Orchestra

Conductor: Emil Kahn

Here is a collection of symphonic excerpts showcasing the solo violinist in ensemble situations. This album provides a necessary introduction to the experience of soloing in an orchestral ensemble and will give you a thrilling environment in which to do it. Great music from the world's master composers. American virtuoso Geoffrey Applegate performs these works and then you take his place alongside the Stuttgart Symphony Orchestra conducted by Emil Kahn.

Includes a high-quality printed music score and a compact disc containing a complete version with soloist, in split-channel stereo (soloist on the right channel); then a second version in full stereo of the orchestral accompaniment, minus the soloist.

  • Capriccio Espagnol (Alborada)  Performed by Nikolay Andreyevich Rimsky-Korsakov
  • Capriccio Espagnol (Fandango Asturiano)  Performed by Nikolay Andreyevich Rimsky-Korsakov
  • Serenade No. 7 in D major, 'Haffner,' KV250 (KV248b): Andante  Performed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • Suite No. 4 in G major, op. 61, 'Mozartiana'  Performed by Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky
  • Symphony No. 4 in D minor, op. 120: II. Romanze (excerpt)  Performed by Robert Schumann
  • Orpheus in the Underworld: Overture (Allegro vivace)  Performed by Jacques Offenbach
  • Symphony No. 1 in C minor: II. Andante sostenuto (excerpt)  Performed by Johannes Brahms
  • Swan Lake: Scene no. 4 (Andante non troppo)  Performed by Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky
  • Danse Macabre, Op. 40  Performed by Camille Saint-Saens
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.