World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


The Complete Idiot's Guide to Open Mic Night for Guitarists

Advice, Tips, Instruction, and 25 Great Songs

Be the first! Write a Review

Advice, Tips, Instruction, and 25 Great Songs. Guitar Mixed Folio; Guitar TAB. Complete Idiot's Guide. Acoustic; Pop; Rock. Book; Enhanced CD. 224 pages. Alfred Music #00-37455. Published by Alfred Music (AP.37455).

Item Number: AP.37455

ISBN 0739080148. English.

The Complete Idiot's Guide to Open Mic Night will give you the musical and performance knowledge, technical skills, and, most importantly, the confidence you need to step up to the microphone and give it your all. This book contains information on how to sign up, preparing your set, venue etiquette, performance, the equipment you might need, networking, and promotion so friends and fans will come out and show support. But the heart of this book is the songs---25 great songs all arranged for voice and guitar, by such artists as Foo Fighters, Plain White T's, Radiohead, Bruno Mars, Gnarles Barkley, Train, The Black Crowes, Jason Mraz, Jackson Browne, and many more.

Every song is paired with a detailed lesson on how to play the tune, and each song-geared lesson is peppered with concepts that will heighten your overall understanding of music. In addition, each lesson contains biographical info about the artist or band, and sometimes some background on the creation of the song, information that's perfect for on-stage open mic banter. Plus, all songs are performed and demonstrated on the provided CDs. And with the TNT software included on the discs, you can slow songs down, loop sections, change keys, and even drop out the vocals for karaoke-style sing-along practice.

Titles: 15 Step * 1983 * Billionaire * Butterfly * Chuck E.'s in Love * Crazy * Everlong * Grenade * Heaven * Hey There Delilah * Home * If Everyone Cared * If I Had $1,000,000 * I'll See You in My Dreams * In Love with a Girl * Into the Mystic * Layla * Marry Me * Over the Rainbow * Say * She Talks to Angels * Too Many Angels * Umbrella * Use Somebody * You Can Leave Your Hat On.

  • Hey There Delilah  Composed by Tom Higgenson
  • In Love with a Girl   Composed by Gavin DeGraw
  • Layla (Unplugged)  Composed by Eric Clapton; Jim Gordon
  • Grenade  Composed by Andrew Wyatt; Claude Kelly; Peter Hernandez A/k/a Bruno Mars; Ari Levine; Philip W. Lawrence; Brody Brown A/k/a Christopher S
  • Umbrella  Composed by Shawn Carter; Terius Nash; Thaddis Harrell; Christopher Stewart
  • 15 Step  Composed by Thomas Yorke; Edward O'Brien; Jonathan Greenwood; Colin Greenwood; Philip Selway
  • If Everyone Cared  Composed by Nickelback;Lyrics by Chad Kroeger
  • Everlong  Composed by David Grohl
  • Heaven  Composed by Brett Dennen
  • Billionaire  Composed by Travis McCoy; Peter Hernandez A/k/a Bruno Mars; Ari Levine; Philip W. Lawrence
  • 1983  Composed by Christopher C. Allen; Branden M. Campbell; Elaine G. Doty; Tyler A. Glenn; Timothy A. Pagnotta
  • Use Somebody  Composed by Caleb Followill; Jared Followill; Nathan Followill; Matthew Followill
  • Say  Composed by John C. Mayer
  • Over The Rainbow (From "The Wizard Of Oz")  Composed by Harold Arlen;Lyrics by E.Y. "Yip" Harburg
  • Chuck E's In Love  Composed by Rickie Lee Jones
  • You Can Leave Your Hat On  Composed by Randy Newman
  • Into The Mystic  Composed by Van Morrison
  • I'll See You In My Dreams  Composed by Isham Jones;Lyrics by Gus Kahn
  • Crazy  Composed by Thomas "Cee-Lo" Callaway; Brian J. Burton; Gianfranco Reverberi; Gian Piero Reverberi
  • Home  Composed by Michael Buble; Amy Foster; Alan Chang
  • Marry Me  Composed by Sam Hollander; Patrick T. Monahan
  • Butterfly  Composed by Jason Mraz
  • If I Had $1000000  Composed by Steven Page; Ed Robertson
  • Too Many Angels  Composed by Jackson Browne
  • She Talks To Angels  Composed by Chris Robinson; Rich Robinson

Buy Together




Buy both for $31.98

[ { "catalogRefId":"19732914", "quantity":"1" }, { "catalogRefId":"19293295", "quantity":"1" } ]
AddtoCart Print
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.