World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


The Christmas String Quartet Book

By Various

Be the first! Write a Review

String Quartet - Easy/Beginner - Digital Download
Composed by Various. Arranged by James M. Guthrie, ASCAP. Christian, Repertoire, Christmas. Score, Set of Parts. 96 pages. Published by jmsgu3 (S0.429283).

Item Number: S0.429283

Christmas String Quartet Book

Christmas Reharmonizations by James M. Guthrie. The Christmas String Quartet Book is a collection of the 18 Most Famous Christmas Songs of all time with new and surprising harmony.


First of all, your string quartet can perform the Christmas String Quartet Book directly from the score. This is easy because each song is only two pages long, hence there are no page turns. Alternatively, this download includes a full set of parts. So various combinations are also possible: e.g. violins read from the score on one stand, while the viola & cello each use the parts on separate stands. The Christmas String Quartet Book is available in whatever format works best for your particular ensemble.


This collection of the most famous 18 Christmas songs can be performed as a medley as written. Moreover, selected songs from the Christmas String Quartet Book could be chosen as the last verse of a hymn presentation. In this case, just play the usual arrangement from the hymnal for the first verses, then switch to this arrangement for the final verse. This adds a great deal of energy and unexpected adventure to your performance. Each song could be repeated depending upon the length of time required. This is a very versatile collection. Suitable for Christmas parties or receptions, church services and receptions, nightclubs, and school presentations. Also, they are very easy to perform or even sight-read.


Each song in the Christmas String Quartet Book is adventurously reharmonized, but the melody always remains perfectly intact. This makes it easy for anyone to sing along. Moreover, the songs end properly in the correct key so as to add an element of familiarity and closure. Tempo markings occur at the beginning of each song, but you can adjust these to your liking.  Phrase markings appear throughout as a guide for bowing. Articulations are carefully calculated to emphasize the characteristics of the string instruments.


  1. Veni, veni, Emmanuel (O Come, O Come, Emmanuel)
  2. Helmsley (Lo! He Comes with Clouds Descending)
  3. Antioch (Joy to the World)
  4. Carol (It Came Upon a Midnight Clear)
  5. Es ist ein Ros (Lo, How a Rose)
  6. Gloria
  7. God Rest You Merry
  8. Greensleeves
  9. In dulci jubilo (In Thee is Gladness)
  10. Mendelssohn (Hark the Herald Angels Sing)
  11. Personet hodie
  12. The First Noel
  13. Salzburg (At the Lamb’s High Feast We Sing)
  14. Three Kings of Orient
  15. Adeste Fideles (O Come All Ye Faithful)
  16. St Louis (O Little Town of Bethlehem)
  17. Away in a Manger
  18. Stille Nacht (Silent Night)

Score: 36 pages, Parts: 6 pages. Total duration with no repeats: ca. 14:00

About SMP Press

This product was created by a member of SMP Press, our global community of independent composers, arrangers, and songwriters. Our independent musicians have created unique compositions and arrangements for the Sheet Music Plus community, many of which are not available anywhere else.

Click here to see more titles from these independent creators and to learn more about SMP Press.

Please note this product may not be eligible for all sales, promotions or coupons offered through Sheet Music Plus - please check promotional details for specifics.

About Digital Downloads

Digital Downloads are downloadable sheet music files that can be viewed directly on your computer, tablet or mobile device. Once you download your digital sheet music, you can view and print it at home, school, or anywhere you want to make music, and you don’t have to be connected to the internet. Just purchase, download and play!

PLEASE NOTE: Your Digital Download will have a watermark at the bottom of each page that will include your name, purchase date and number of copies purchased. You are only authorized to print the number of copies that you have purchased. You may not digitally distribute or print more copies than purchased for use (i.e., you may not print or digitally distribute individual copies to friends or students).

Buy Together


9% off


Buy both for $96.95

[ { "catalogRefId":"20826700", "quantity":"1" }, { "catalogRefId":"20183034", "quantity":"1" } ]
AddtoCart Digital
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.