World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


The Best of Joe Satriani

By Joe Satriani

By Joe Satriani. Hal Leonard Guitar Signature Licks. Instrumental Rock, Hard Rock and Instructional. Instructional book (song excerpts only, softcover) and examples CD. With guitar tablature, standard notation, chord names, guitar chord diagrams, guitar notation legend, instructional text and performance notes. 80 pages. Published by Hal Leonard (HL.695216).

Item Number: HL.695216

ISBN 0793582180. 9x12 inches.

Explore Satriani's scorching sound with this step-by-step breakdown of his styles and techniques. This book/CD pack provides hands-on analysis of 11 classic tracks from five albums. From Not of This Earth: Hordes of Locusts * Memories * Not of This Earth * Rubina. From Surfing with the Alien: Always with Me, Always with You * Circles * Crushing Day. From Dreaming #11: The Crush of Love. From Flying in a Blue Dream: Big Bad Moon * Flying in a Blue Dream. From The Extremist: Summer Song.

About Hal Leonard Signature Licks

The Signature Licks book/audio packs are especially formatted to give instruction on how to play a particular artist style by using the actual transcribed, "right from the record" licks! Designed for use by anyone from beginner right up to the experienced player who is looking to expand their insight. The books contain full performance notes and an overview of each artist or group's style with transcriptions in notes and tab. The audio accompaniment features playing tips and techniques, as well as playing examples at a slower tempo.

  • Hordes Of Locusts 
  • Flying In A Blue Dream 
  • Big Bad Moon 
  • Summer Song 
  • The Crush Of Love 
  • Always With Me, Always With You 
  • Memories 
  • Rubina 
  • Crushing Day 
  • Satch Boogie 
  • Circles 
  • Not Of This Earth 
  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 4

    Greg S.
    Lewis Center, OH
    Difficulty Level:
  • 2001-05-14 00:00:00.0 Good mix of riffs and solos

    This CD/book combo has a great collection of Satch songs. Overall, all Hal Leonard books like this really hit the mark. Though there are a few things that would make this a little better that are on other Signature Licks series books. It does not contain all the song...

    , just snippets of the most important parts, so if you want the entire song, get the full TAB book. The tapping part from "Always with you, always with me" is not in this one. So some key parts from your favorite song may not be included. Also, other HL books have a short narrative on the CD providing a description of the guitar parts; this one simply has the regular and slowed down versions. Though the written narrative does provide a good description of the piece. Again, this gives the player a great selection of Satriani's songs to digest.

    Read More
    20 of 37 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
  • 5

    Mike Kawasaki
    Tokyo Japan
    Difficulty Level:
  • 2000-06-08 00:00:00.0 Just what I needed

    This is exactly what I was looking for. Had the tab book for Flying in a blue dream and the album (CD), The cd was too fast for me to keep up with. This product does a great job in breaking up the sections. Reg/Slow tempo. You can also...

    play along without the guitar by R/L panning function on the stereo. Now I am a real closet junkie!!! Check it out.

    Read More
    21 of 41 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

I am a music teacher.