World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


The Art of Comping

Stille Nacht

By Jim McNeely

Be the first! Write a Review

Stille Nacht. Composed by Jim McNeely. Jazz. Book. Published by Advance Music (AV.9014).

Item Number: AV.9014

The Art of Comping is a "hands-on" (first-of-its-kind) workbook which enables you to practice an often-neglected aspect of jazz piano playing. The text points out important aspects of the comping and offers a number of specific suggestions and chord voicings for each tune. You hear the author comp and you get a chance to comp with the same rhythm section, without the piano track. Rhythm section: Jim Mcneely - piano, Rufus Reid - bass, Victor Lewis - drums, soloists: Art Farmer - flugelhorn, Steve Erquiaga - guitar, Bobby Watson - alto sax. Text: English / French / German. 96 pages.

  • Blues For Wanda  Performed by Jim McNeely
  • Crossroads (medium tempo swinger)  Performed by Bobby Watson
  • 'Round Midnight (Ballad)  Performed by Thelonious Monk, Cootie Williams
  • Karita (medium tempo Latin)  Performed by Bobby Watson
  • Give And Take (uses structural elements, similar to Herbie Hancock's Dolphin Dance)  Performed by Jim McNeely
  • Last Minute (uptempo modal)  Performed by Jim McNeely
Close X

I am a music teacher.