World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Symphony D minor Hob. I:26 "Lamentazione"

By Franz Joseph Haydn

Be the first! Write a Review

2 oboes, 2 horns, 2 violins, viola, Basso (2 oboes, 2 horns, 2 violins, viola, double bass) - Level 3
Composed by Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809). Edited by Andreas Friesenhagen and Christin Heitmann. This edition: urtext edition. Stapled. Score. Hob. I:26. Duration 17 minutes. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA10975. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA10975).

Item Number: BA.BA10975

ISBN 9790006558872. 31 x 24.3 cm inches. Key: D minor. Text Language: German/English. Preface: Andreas Friesenhagen.

Haydn's Symphony No. 26 received its nicknameLamentazioneduring his lifetime, though it is unclear whether this stems directly from the composer.
This work probably originated no later than 1770. Its first and second movements quote excerpts from Gregorian chants used in Holy Week. In Haydn's day it was customary to play individual movements in church services, and it may be assumed that these two movements were performed, and possibly composed, independently from each other.

Continuing the collaboration between Barenreiter and the Henle publishing company in the areas of large-scale choral works, operas and symphonies, Haydn's Symphony No. 26 is appearing, based on the Henle Complete Edition of theWorks of Joseph Haydn. The complete performance material for several of Haydn'sSturm und Drangsymphonies and all of the London and Paris symphonies has already been published.

* Based on the Henle Complete Edition of theWorks of Joseph Haydn
* Orchestral parts available in a large format (25.5 x 32.5 cm)

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- Includes an introduction with critical commentary explaining source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


Buy Together




Buy both for $51.90

[ { "catalogRefId":"20068113", "quantity":"1" }, { "catalogRefId":"20068114", "quantity":"1" } ]
AddtoCart Print

See Similar Sheet Music and Digital Downloads

Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.