World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


String Quartets, Vol. V, Op. 33 (Russian Quartets)

Set of Parts (Edition with fingering)

By Franz Joseph Haydn

Be the first! Write a Review

String Quartet
Set of Parts (Edition with fingering). Composed by Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809). Edited by Georg Feder. Henle Music Folios. Pages: Vl I Part = 39 * Vl II Part = 31 * Va Part = 27 * Vc Part = 27. Classical. Softcover. 128 pages. G. Henle #HN209. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480209).

Item Number: HL.51480209

9.25x12.25 inches.

Haydn allowed about ten years to pass before composing a new cycle of string quartets after opus 20: the so-called “Russian Quartets.” This is the first series of quartets that we know he wrote with publication in mind. “They are in a completely new and special manner,” he wrote in several letters, and he was certainly not just referring to the fact that “Scherzi” replaced the minuets for the first time. Music lovers particularly appreciate the melodic ideas; thus the rich ornamentation of the main motif of op. 33,3, gave the quartet its nickname “Bird Quartet.”.

  • Haydn: Quartet [Russian Quartet] b minor op. 33,1 Hob. III:37 
  • Haydn: Quartet ['Vogelquartett'] C major op. 33,3 Hob. III:39 
  • Haydn: Quartet (Russian Quartet] B flat major op. 33,4 Hob. III:40 
  • Haydn: Quartet [Russian Quartet] E flat major op. 33,2 Hob. III:38 
  • Haydn: Quartet [Russian Quartet] G major op. 33,5 Hob. III:41 
  • Haydn: Quartet [Russian Quartet] D major op. 33,6 Hob. III:42 
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.