World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


String Quartets op. 74, 95

By Ludwig van Beethoven

Be the first! Write a Review

2 violins/viola/cello (2 violins, viola, cello)
Composed by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827). Edited by Jonathan Del Mar. This edition: urtext edition. Paperback. Barenreiter Urtext. Streichquartett Kammermusik (String Quartets, Chamber Music). Study Score. Opus 74, 95. Duration 42 minutes. Baerenreiter Verlag #TP00918. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.TP00918).

Item Number: BA.TP00918

ISBN 9790006204793. 22.5 x 16.5 cm inches. Preface: Barry Cooper/Jonathan Del Mar.

Some of Beethoven's most enduring and unabashedly successful works stem from his so-called"Middle Period"and in the genre of chamber music, the quartets op. 74 and 95 together with the recently issued op. 59 quartets complete this period. Jonathan Del Mar's scholarly critical edition of quartets op. 74 and 95 sets the record straight once and for all, restoring Beethoven's articulation, dynamics and lengths of slurs as the composer originally intended.

The interdependency of the sources and their readings are clearly laid out by Del Mar in his Critical Commentary, which also contains facsimile pages pointing out ambiguities with previous editions.

- Barenreiter quality Urtext
- Critical Commentary (Eng) with facsimiles
- Study score includes historical introduction (Ger/Eng) by Barry Cooper

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- Includes an introduction with critical commentary explaining source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


See Similar Sheet Music and Digital Downloads

Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.