World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


String Quartets Op. 12 and 13

By Felix Bartholdy Mendelssohn

Be the first! Write a Review

Chamber Ensemble String Quartet (2 Violins, Viola, Violoncello)
Composed by Felix Bartholdy Mendelssohn (1809-1847). Edited by Ernst Herttrich. Sheet Music. Paperbound. Henle Music Folios. Pages: Vl I Part = 35 * Vl II Part = 24 * Va Part = 25 * Vc Part = 21. Classical. Softcover. 124 pages. G. Henle #HN270. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480270).

Item Number: HL.51480270

ISBN 9790201802701. 9.25x12.25 inches.

The string quartet is generally considered as the chamber-music genre of the classical era: invented by Haydn, elaborated by Haydn and Mozart, and brought to its compositional peak by Beethoven. All later quartet composers had to measure themselves against the works of these three masters. This applies first and foremost to Mendelssohn, who has always been called a “classical romantic.” His Quartet in A minor op. 13 in particular is said to have strong Beethovenian stylistic traits. It was composed in late summer and fall 1827, shortly after Beethoven's late quartets appeared in print, works that Mendelssohn was no doubt familiar with. The Quartet in E flat major op. 12 was written two years later, during Mendelssohn's first tour of England. A textually identical score of the two quartets is published in Henle's Study Score series (HN 9270).

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)

  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: String Quartet a minor op. 13 
  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Appendix: Song 'Frage' op. 9,1 
  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: String Quartet E flat major op. 12 

See Similar Sheet Music and Digital Downloads

Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.