World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


String Quartet #1 (Yuki)

Digital Sheet Music

By Ed Sharpe

Be the first! Write a Review

String Quartet String Quartet - Level 5 - Digital Download
Composed by Ed Sharpe. 20th Century, Contemporary. Score and parts. 35 pages. Ed Sharpe #3558305. Published by Ed Sharpe (A0.1028516).

Item Number: A0.1028516

This is a short five movement piece for string quartet. Each movement is only about one minute each. And each movement is one line of a tanka that I wrote about Snow (Yuki). I wrote the second movement first and all of the material in the other four movements appears in or is derived from the second movement. Given this, one can think of the first movement as a prelude with the second movement being the main movement. The fifth movement re-states the main motifs of the first four movements, combining them into one large polyphonic mass.

Unable to sleep I listen throughout the night to the silent song of falling snow in my yard. With the soft dawn, satori.

  • The first movement is built around the pentatonic scale F# G B C# D. (The Japanese Hirajoshi Scale; 平調�� )
  • The second movement is built around the pentatonic scale C# D F# G# A.
  • The third movement is built around the pentatonic scale D Eb G A Bb.
  • The fourth movement is built around the pentatonic scale C Dd F G Ab, but does not strictly adhere to the scale in places.
  • The fifth movement is built around the pentatonic scale C# D F# G# A, but does not strictly adhere to the scale in places

This product was created by a member of ArrangeMe, Hal Leonard’s global self-publishing community of independent composers, arrangers, and songwriters. ArrangeMe allows for the publication of unique arrangements of both popular titles and original compositions from a wide variety of voices and backgrounds.

About Digital Downloads

Digital Downloads are downloadable sheet music files that can be viewed directly on your computer, tablet or mobile device. Once you download your digital sheet music, you can view and print it at home, school, or anywhere you want to make music, and you don’t have to be connected to the internet. Just purchase, download and play!

PLEASE NOTE: Your Digital Download will have a watermark at the bottom of each page that will include your name, purchase date and number of copies purchased. You are only authorized to print the number of copies that you have purchased. You may not digitally distribute or print more copies than purchased for use (i.e., you may not print or digitally distribute individual copies to friends or students).

Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.