World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Stabat Mater Hob. XX bis

Oratorio (Funeral Music), versions from 1767 and 1803

By Franz Joseph Haydn

Be the first! Write a Review

Singing voice, SATB choir, orchestra (Soprano Voice Solo, Alto Voice Solo, Tenor Voice Solo, Bass Voice Solo, SATB Choir, Fl, 2 Oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 Horns, 2 Trumpets, timpani, Strings, Continuo) - Level 3
Oratorio (Funeral Music), versions from 1767 and 1803. Composed by Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809). Edited by Fred Stoltzfus and Marianne Helms. This edition: urtext edition. Paperback. Fassungen von 1767 und 1803. Score. Hob. XX to. 168 pages. Duration 50 minutes. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA04642. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA04642).

Item Number: BA.BA04642

ISBN 9790006493432. 31 x 24.3 cm inches. Language: Latin, Text Language: Latin.

The new scholarly critical edition of Joseph Haydn's Stabat Mater (1767) is published in Henle's complete edition of Haydn's works. This edition is the first to come as close as possible to the lost original and has been compiled using all currently available sources. The score has been fully amended. In its original orchestration for two oboes or English horn, strings and organ.
At a later performance of this work, probably in 1803, Haydn attempted to accommodate the intervening changes in musical taste. According to the composer's request and under his supervision, Sigismund Neukomm enlarged the wind orchestration by adding a flute, two clarinets, two bassoons, two French horns, trumpets and timpani. Haydn's Stabat Mater in both its original scoring as well as Neukomm's scoring.

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- Includes an introduction with critical commentary explaining source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


  • Orchester-Originalbesetzung: 2 Oboen/Englischhorner, Streicher, Orgel oder Cembalo 
  • Erweiterte Instrumentierung (Haydn/Neukomm) Flote, 2 Oboen, 2 Klarinetten, 2 Fagotte, 2 Horner, 2 Trompeten, 3 Posaunen, Orgel oder Cembalo 

Buy Together




Buy both for $92.94

[ { "catalogRefId":"2436319", "quantity":"1" }, { "catalogRefId":"20074878", "quantity":"1" } ]
AddtoCart Print

See Similar Sheet Music and Digital Downloads

Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.