World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Sonata for Piano and Violoncello D Major Op. 58

Cello and Piano

By Felix Bartholdy Mendelssohn

Strings Cello; Piano (Violoncello and Piano)
Cello and Piano. Composed by Felix Bartholdy Mendelssohn (1809-1847). Edited by Rudolf Elvers. Sheet Music. Paperbound. Henle Music Folios. Pages: Score = IV and 50 * Vc Part = 17. Classical. Softcover. 94 pages. G. Henle #HN668. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480668).

Item Number: HL.51480668

ISBN 9790201806686. 9.25x12.25x0.321 inches.

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy wrote three major works for cello and piano, a task he particularly enjoyed since his brother Paul was a cellist. Following the early Variations op. 17 (1829) and the Sonata no. 1 in B flat Major, op. 45 (1839), the op. 58 grand Sonata (1843) qualifies as the high point in Mendelssohn's oeuvre for cello.

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)

  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 5

    Difficulty Level:
  • November 28, 2007 Bravo URTEXT!

    Wonderful edition. Beautiful typeset, no errors whatsoever, EASIEST EDITIONS TO READ, great background provided on the piece in the introductory notes. You can't go wrong with URTEXT - ever.

    21 of 39 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.