World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Six Suites for Violoncello solo, BWV 1007-1012

By Johann Sebastian Bach

Be the first! Write a Review

Cello (cello)
Composed by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750). Edited by Andrew Talle. Arranged by Andrew Talle / Jungeun Elle Kim. This edition: Edition of selected works, Urtext edition. Linen. Performance score, anthology. BWV 1007-1012. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA05942-01. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA05942-01).

Item Number: BA.BA05942-01

ISBN 9790006545445. 33 x 26 cm inches. Text Language: German, English.

Unlike Bach's violin solos, hisSix Suites for Violoncello Solohave not come down to us in his own hand. The four surviving handwritten sources and the original first edition of 1824 differ in many details, the articulation and phrasing being particularly ambiguous.

Now Andrew Talle has fundamentally reassessed the relations between these surviving sources for Volume 4 of theNew Bach Edition - Revised. He has drawn major conclusions regarding their evaluation and consequently the genesis of the suites, which presumably took place over a lengthy period of time. His evaluations are augmented with thorough discussions of the instrument for which the suites were conceived and the interpretative practices in Bach's day.

The musical text presented in Part I of the edition is based on these findings. It approaches the composer's original intentions as far as the sources will permit:This edition does not present a perfect reconstruction of the lost autograph; no editor could claim to do so. Instead, I have attempted to provide musicians and scholars with a reliable version of the surviving musical text of the six cello suites and to shed light on the options which Bach encouraged his musicians to explore.

Part II presents, for the first time, facsimiles of the handwritten sources and the original print in s y n o p t i c form, including Bach's own lute arrangement of Suite V. This enables users to compare any given passage in all sources at a single glance, making it possible to retrace every editorial decision.

* Detailed Introduction with discussions of the relations between the surviving sources, the genesis of the suites, the instrument for which they were conceived, and the interpretative practices in Bach's day
* Coherent musical text based on these new findings
* Synoptic presentation of all relevant sources in facsimile, allowing direct comparison of any given passage

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- A Critical Commentary explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.