World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Six Partitas, BWV 825-830

First Part of the Clavierubung

By Johann Sebastian Bach

Be the first! Write a Review

Harpsichord, piano
First Part of the Clavierubung. Composed by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750). Edited by Ragna Schirmer and Richard Douglas Jones. This edition: urtext edition. Paperback. Barenreiter Urtext. Edition without fingering see BA 5152. Performance score, anthology. BWV 825-830. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA05247. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA05247).

Item Number: BA.BA05247

ISBN 9790006534944. 31 x 24.3 cm inches.

Johann Sebastian Bach'ssix partitasBWV 825-830 represent the pinnacle of his keyboard suites. In the search for the greatest variety of stylistic and compositional techniques, the collection shows itself to have the status of amusical art book. In keeping with this, Bach had these most prestigious works printed at his own expense as Part I of theClavier Ubung.

This expanded new edition takes into consideration not only the revised main text of thesix partitasbut also, for the first time evaluates printed copies known to have been used by Bach and his closest circle and copies made by his circle of pupils. These include annotations on ornamentation and valuable hints on performance practice which are invaluable for present-day musicians. This is the first extensive edition to take all existing sources into account. The editor is the British musicologist Richard Douglas Jones, well-known for his numerous discoveries and publications on Bach.

Bach's Six Partitas are also published in an edition with fingerings by the renowned Bach interpreter Ragna Schirmer .

- Urtext from theNew Bach Edition
- Extensive edition of Bach's keyboard partitas with numerous facsimiles
- Information on playing technique from Bach's circle of pupils
- Preface (Ger/Eng) on the composition of the work, performance practice and sources
- Also available in an edition with fingerings

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- Includes an introduction with critical commentary explaining source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.