World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Sibelius: Symphonies Nos. 3, 6 & 7

By Minnesota Orchestra

Be the first! Write a Review

By Minnesota Orchestra and Osmo Vanska. By Jean Sibelius (1865-1957). Classical. Hybrid SACD. Published by Naxos (NX.BIS-2006).

Item Number: NX.BIS-2006

This new release from BIS is the final installment in the Sibelius cycle from Osmo Vanska and the Minnesota Orchestra. The prior albums found incredible success upon their release, with the second receiving a Grammy Award for 'Best Orchestral Performance.' This album combines Sibelius's Third Symphony, completed in 1907, with his two final symphonies, Nos. 6 and 7, which were composed between 1922 and 1924. The Third Symphony is his most classical symphony, which was a radical direction change after the opulence of his second. Conductor Koussevitzky called the work 'music far in advance of its time.' The Sixth Symphony again surprised his admirers with its intense climaxes and virtuosic orchestrations. Immediately following came his symphonic swan song, the stern but majestic Seventh Symphony.

  • Symphony No. 3 in C Major, Op. 52 
  • 01. I. Allegro moderato 
  • 02. II. Andantino con moto, quasi allegretto 
  • 03. III. Moderato - Allegro 
  • Symphony No. 6 in D Minor, Op. 104 
  • 04. I. Allegro molto moderato 
  • 05. II. Allegretto moderato 
  • 06. III. Poco vivace 
  • 07. IV. Allegro molto 
  • 08. Symphony No. 7 in C Major, Op. 105 
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.