World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Septettin' for Saxophones (SET OF PARTS)

By Chris Gordon

Be the first! Write a Review

Alto Sax, Tenor Sax, Baritone Sax, Soprano Sax, Alto Sax, Tenor Sax, Baritone Sax, Soprano Sax, Solo Group: Soprano 1, Soprano II, Soprano III (or Alto) Saxophones. Ripieno Group: Solo Soprano, Alto, Tenor and Baritone Saxophones - Intermediate - Digital Download
Composed by Chris Gordon. Baroque Period, Contemporary Classical, Jazz, Latin Jazz, Repertoire. Set of Parts. 24 pages. Published by Cool Wind Music Digital (S0.244437).

Item Number: S0.244437

A novel 'take' on Steve Reich-style 'minimalism' with a touch of latino beat and a variety of jazz influences from the East and West Coasts of America. It looks back to an earlier period of music, the Baroque period of the early 18th century, by adopting a 'concerto grosso' form with solo group of 3 soprano saxophones (or 2 sopranos and one alto) plus a ripieno group consisting of soprano, alto, tenor and baritone saxophones. It is huge fun to play and great fun to listen to. Ideal for school and college saxophone ensemble concerts and competitions.

First performed in June 2007 by the Saxophone Ensemble of the Royal College of Music, London, England, conducted by Kyle Horch, RCM Professor of Saxophone.

Sample Programme Note

1. Greenwich Village NY 1967 (2 sections)
2. Untitled
3. Untitled
4. Untitled
5. Rio Grande Shuffle
6. Memphis Heads West
7. Blue Tortillas
8. Acapulco Brass
9. Las Vegas
10. Tacoma Bridge (in 9/8)
11. San Francisco cool jazz
12. South of the Border
13. Salsa and Chips
14. Bridge to:-
15. Greenwich Village NY 1967 (2 sections)
16. Coda (2 sections)

Septettin’ is intended to be an ensemble piece which encourages players to listen to each other and help them to balance the parts in a light-hearted and engaging way.

The name reflects the the fact that there are 7 parts (voices) although it can be played more than one to a part in concert performances. The piece is made up of 14 small sections of between 4 and 16 bars. These are framed by a larger section which opens it and returns to close it. This opening and closing music, entitled 'Greenwich Village 1967', is a 'tongue-in-cheek' evocation of the early minimalists' densely-packed yet fractured counterpoint. Following this are the 14 'episodes'. These have either a 'Jazz' or 'Latin' flavour. The titles are given above. After the final return of 'Greenwich Village 1967', there are 2 coda sections to round the work off.

Septettin' is scored for 4 soprano saxophones, alto, tenor and baritone saxophones and is dedicated to Gerard McChrystal.

About SMP Press

This product was created by a member of SMP Press, our global community of independent composers, arrangers, and songwriters. Our independent musicians have created unique compositions and arrangements for the Sheet Music Plus community, many of which are not available anywhere else.

Click here to see more titles from these independent creators and to learn more about SMP Press.

Please note this product may not be eligible for all sales, promotions or coupons offered through Sheet Music Plus - please check promotional details for specifics.

About Digital Downloads

Digital Downloads are downloadable sheet music files that can be viewed directly on your computer, tablet or mobile device. Once you download your digital sheet music, you can view and print it at home, school, or anywhere you want to make music, and you don’t have to be connected to the internet. Just purchase, download and play!

PLEASE NOTE: Your Digital Download will have a watermark at the bottom of each page that will include your name, purchase date and number of copies purchased. You are only authorized to print the number of copies that you have purchased. You may not digitally distribute or print more copies than purchased for use (i.e., you may not print or digitally distribute individual copies to friends or students).

Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.