World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Scottish 18th-Century Guitar Tunes

By Rob Mackillop

Be the first! Write a Review

Guitar (fingerpicking) - Intermediate
Composed by Rob Mackillop. Classical, Saddle-stitched. Baroque. Book and online audio. 72 pages. Mel Bay Publications, Inc #30764M. Published by Mel Bay Publications, Inc (MB.30764M).

Item Number: MB.30764M

ISBN 9781513464404. 8.75 x 11.75 inches.

In this unique collection, multi-instrumentalist Rob MacKillop presents 30 airs and dances from Scotland, Ireland and England transcribed for the modern guitar in open-D tuning (DADF♯AD). Although conceived for fingerstyle playing, most of these traditional, Classical and Baroque pieces are also playable with a pick. During the mid to late 18th century, a wire-strung instrument which could be described as a cross between a guitar and a cittern appeared in Britain. With the exception of the publications in Edinburgh by Robert Bremmer (c. 1713 – 89), most period writings refer to this instrument as the guittar. In providing extensive historical and performance notes on this music, the author has adopted this spelling. While derived principally from the publications by Scottish guittarists Robert Bremmer and James Oswald (1710 – 69), MacKillop discovered additional Scottish publications and manuscripts in The National Library of Scotland and even more manuscripts in the uncatalogued library of Blair Castle in Perthshire, Scotland. Written in standard notation and tablature, this book brings a particularly uncommon repertoire to light with an exceptional downloadable recording. Includes access to online audio.

  • An Ye Were My Ain Thing 
  • Faild Na Iniasg 
  • I Love My Love In Secret 
  • Lochaber No More 
  • Mcglashanas Croanich 
  • Miss Hamilton 
  • Mount Your Baggage 
  • Mr. Bremneras Jigg 
  • The Handsome Highlandman 
  • The Yellow-Haird Laddie 
  • Allegro 
  • Carrick Fergus 
  • Comely Garden Reel 
  • Giga 
  • Jack Lattin 
  • Lord Kellyas Reel 
  • Oaer Bogie 
  • Maggy Lawder 
  • Miss Andersonas Minuet By C. K. Sharpe 
  • When I Followed A Lass 
  • Roslin Castle 
  • The East Nook Of Fife 
  • The Lea Rigg 
  • The Parson And His Boots 
  • Air 
  • Air By Mr. Rush 
  • Because He Was a Bonny Lad 
  • Giordanis Minuet 
  • Minuet 
  • Reel: Iall Gae Nae Mair Tae Yon Toon 

Buy Together




Buy both for $39.98

[ { "catalogRefId":"21436605", "quantity":"1" }, { "catalogRefId":"19464924", "quantity":"1" } ]
AddtoCart Print
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.