World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Samtliche Klaviersonaten, Band I

Complete Piano Sonatas, Volume 1

By Aleksandr Skrjabin

Be the first! Write a Review

Complete Piano Sonatas, Volume 1. Composed by Aleksandr Skrjabin. Edited by Christoph Flamm. This edition: urtext edition. Paperback. Aleksandr Skrjabin. Complete Piano Sonatas I \| BARENREITER URTEXT. Performance score, anthology. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA09616. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA09616).

Item Number: BA.BA09616

ISBN 9790006536900. 31 x 24 cm inches. Text Language: German/English. Preface: Marc-Andre Hamelin/Christoph Flamm.

The piano sonatas are regarded as the central works of Alexander Skrjabin's compositional output. No other composer after Beethoven reshaped this genre so radically, thereby reinvigorating the tradition of the sonata. Skrjabin's desire not simply to continue the existing tradition, but to surpass it, is evident as early as his first sonatas. These are exciting works from the pianist's perspective and in their abundance of expression and wealth of imagination. Up to the third sonata Skrjabin developed a distinctive feeling for structural coherence and cyclical unity which at the same time revealed poetic qualities.

This volume contains the earlier works; sonatas officially published during the composer's lifetime as No. 1 op. 6, No. 2 (Sonate-Fantaisie) op. 19 and No. 3 op. 23 as well as the sonatas written during his youth, in G-sharp minor (1886) and E-flat minor (1887-89). The edition also includes the virtually unknown fragment of a sonata in C-sharp minor (1887) and the reconstructed parts of a sonata in G-sharp minor (1892) never previously published.

The editor Christoph Flamm draws on autograph manuscripts, first printed editions and on Russian editions of the 1920s. For the first time the recordings of Sonatas nos. 2 and 3 which Skrjabin made in 1908 on paper rolls for the Hupfeld company, Leipzig are also taken into account.

- Urtext edition reflecting the latest scholarship and taking previously unknown sources into account
- Includes all fragmentary works, some published for the first time
- Detailed foreword Ger/Eng) and critical commentary (Eng)

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- Includes an introduction with critical commentary explaining source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.