World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Requiem KV 626

The Requiem, completed by Franz Xaver Süßmayr, in its traditional form

By Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Soprano solo voice, alto solo voice, tenor solo voice, bass solo voice, SATB choir and piano accompaniment (Soprano Voice Solo, Alto Voice Solo, Tenor Voice Solo, Bass Voice Solo, SATB Choir , 2 BaHn, 2 bassoon, 2 Trp, 3trombone, timpani, 2 V, Va, Continuo(Vc, Basso, Org)) - Difficulty: medium-difficult
The Requiem, completed by Franz Xaver Süßmayr, in its traditional form. Composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791). Edited by Leopold Nowak and Heinz Moehn. This edition: urtext edition. Stapled. Barenreiter Urtext. Classical Period and Sacred. Vocal score. With choral notation and piano reduction. K. 626. 80 pages. Duration 55 minutes. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA04538-90. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA04538-90).

Item Number: BA.BA04538-90

ISBN 9790006450152. 7.5x10.5 inches. Key: D minor. Text Language: Latin. Preface: Christoph Wolff.

Mozart's fragment with additions by Joseph Eybler and Franz Xaver Sussmayr.

Mozart’s final work, the Requiem K. 626, was left incomplete.
The completion of the fragmentary score by his assistant Franz Xaver Süssmayr, who helped him with The Magic Flute, has the character of a historical source with utmost closeness to Mozart’s thoughts.

The completed Requiem score, published in the New Mozart Edition, serves as the basis for this vocal score edition which now appears in a revised form and newly engraved. Minor corrections have been made to the musical text, the vocal parts have been made easier to read and the piano accompaniment easier to play.

Christoph Wolff, an authoritative Requiem connoisseur has supplied a Foreword with a clear and concise account of the work’s genesis and its musical features.

What makes this new edition so special?

* The vocal score has been newly engraved with a generous layout.
* The pagination has been adopted from the previous edition. This means that you can rehearse and perform this work with some singers using this new edition and some the old Bärenreiter edition.
* This new vocal score includes a revised piano reduction: The old Moehn piano reduction has been maintained, but corrected and uncluttered; on the whole the new piano reduction is easier to read and to play.
* The vocal score is fully compatible with all existing performance material (BA 4538).
* A more exact spacing of underlaid words has been included in the vocal parts.
* The text appears in a slightly larger type size.
* The vocal score now contains a Foreword (Ger/Eng) by authoritative Requiem connoisseur Christoph Wolff describing the work’s genesis and its musical features; this text is interesting and accessible not only to professionals but also to amateurs and music lovers.
* Apart from corrections the musical text remains unchanged.

  • 1. Introitus 
  • 2. Kyrie 
  • 3. Sequenz 
  • 4. Offertorium 
  • 5. Sanctus 
  • 6. Benedictus 
  • 7. Agnus Dei 
  • 8. Communio 

Buy Together




We recommend purchasing
Requiem KV 626
Vocal Warm-Ups

Buy both for $30.94

[ { "catalogRefId":"2434625", "quantity":"1" }, { "catalogRefId":"6005443", "quantity":"1" } ]
AddtoCart Print

See Similar Sheet Music and Digital Downloads

  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 5

    Barbara E.
    New Orleans
    Difficulty Level:
  • June 25, 2019 A+ Version

    Everything you need for all voice parts.

    Was this review useful? Yes No
  • 3

    Jeremy Tingle
    Difficulty Level:
  • March 20, 2017 Not entirely as advertised

    Most aspects of this edition (scholarship, introduction, paper quality) are up to typical Barenreiter standards, the price is hard to beat, and the piano reduction is very high quality. However, do understand that the product images displayed are misleading. Rather than the beautiful hand-engraving from 1965 that is advertised...

    here, the 2017 edition features computer engraving, and rather poor computer engraving at that. Was not an absolute deal-breaker for me, and this is still the best all-around edition of the Mozart Requiem, but be warned that the engraving quality is not up to the displayed standard here.

    Read More
    One person found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
  • 5

    Dayton, Ohio
    Difficulty Level:
  • March 20, 2017 Requiem, K.626

    Excellent music, of course, and this version is easy to read. I was surprised and disappointed to learn that an earlier printing had more in-depth notes about which parts were written by Mozart and what was filled in by Eybler and Sussmayr. That was an excellent teaching tool.

    Was this review useful? Yes No
  • 5

    Difficulty Level:
  • February 14, 2017 Great service

    Quick delivery once my high school singers decided we'd tackle this magnificent piece. The description online was clear, and the price was excellent. Thank you Sheet Music Plus!

    1 people found this review not helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
  • 5

    Carlsbad, CA
    Difficulty Level:
  • March 16, 2016 "Too many notes!"

    Excellent score, great price (was as high as $49 from some vendors), and fast service. Glad I found this site. Thanks Sheet Music Plus!

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.