World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Ravel - Tzigane For Violin/Piano Urtext

By Maurice Ravel

Be the first! Write a Review

This item will ship directly from our Australia warehouse!

Violin, Piano
Composed by Maurice Ravel (1875-1937). Edited by Jean-Francois Monnard. Strings, Repertoire, Solos. Tzigane for Violin and Piano. Softcover Book. 20 pages. G. Henle #HN587. Published by G. Henle (HU.HN587).

Item Number: HU.HN587

12.8 x 10 x 0.1 inches.

Virtuoso piece in the style of a Hungarian rhapsody thus reads Ravels entry on Tzigane in the so-called Autobiographical Sketch. Composed in 1924, there are three versions of this work: with piano, with orchestra and with lutheal, a device for keyboard instruments to extend the timbre. Tzigane was inspired by the Hungarian-English violinist Jelly dAranyi, to whom Ravel had already promised a virtuoso piece in 1922 following Franz Liszts Hungarian Rhapsodies. Work progressed slowly anddAranyi only received the music four days before the premiere but sh e still gave a brilliant performance.

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)

Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.