World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Pieces de Fantaisie en quatre suites, Livre IV, Op. 55

By Louis Vierne

Be the first! Write a Review

Organ - UK Grade 8
Composed by Louis Vierne (1870-1937). Edited by Helga Schauerte-Maubouet. This edition: urtext edition. Paperback. Louis Vierne. Complete Organ Works VII.4 \| BARENREITER URTEXT. Performance score. Composed 1927. Opus 55. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA09230. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA09230).

Item Number: BA.BA09230

ISBN 9790006535859. 30 x 23 cm inches.

These two volumes (BA 9229, BA 9230) continue the ambitious project to publish Vierne's complete organ and piano works.

The famous collection of"Pieces de Fantaisie"comprising 24 fantasy pieces in four volumes (Livres I-IV) has become internationally known. With their varying degrees of difficulty, the pieces are suitable for both professional organists as well as advanced pupils and students.

As there is neither a thematic link nor a unifying tonal scheme within the four books, the pieces are above all a diverse collection of individual works suitable for performance in a wide range of contexts.

- Evaluation of all available autograph manuscripts, first printed editions and previously unpublished letters
- Editorial clarification superseding the long-standing international correction lists
- Foreword in three languages (Fr/Eng/Ger), with detailed performance practice tips and Critical Commentary (Fr/Eng/Ger)
- Numerous illustrations and facsimile pages

  • Preface 

  • Louis Vierne - Biographical Overview 
  • The genesis of the 24 Pieces de Fantaisie 
  • The Fantasy Pieces op. 55 
  • Notation and Interpretation 

  • Facsimiles 
  • Pieces de Fantaisie [Corrections of the] 4eme Suite (autograph, page 2) 
  • Les grandes orgues de Notre Dame, Le Figaro, Paris, 11 June 1932 

  • Pieces de Fantaisie op. 55 (1927) 
  • Aubade 
  • Resignation 
  • Cathedrales 
  • Naiades 
  • Gargouilles et Chimeres 
  • Les cloches de Hinckley 

  • Critical Report 
  • I. Abbreviations 
  • II. Editorial technique 
  • III. Sources 
  • IV. Detailed references 

  • Bibliography 
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.