World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Original Big Band Sounds

1st E-flat Alto Saxophone

By trans. and arr. Jeff Hest

Jazz Ensemble 1st E-flat Alto Saxophone
1st E-flat Alto Saxophone. Arranged by trans. and arr. Jeff Hest. Jazz Ensemble Collection. Original Big Band Sounds. Jazz. Book. 20 pages. Published by Alfred Music (AP.TBB9602).

Item Number: AP.TBB9602

ISBN 0769263755. Transcr. and arr. Jeff Hest.

This collection of jazz ensemble arrangements is made up of direct transcriptions of big band recordings by Glenn Miller, Tommy Dorsey, Benny Goodman and Duke Ellington. Arranger Jeff Hest has meticulously transcribed these jazz standards (with the original instrumentation of each famous band) and has included transcriptions of the improvised solos. The titles are: Don't Be That Way * Don't Get Around Much Anymore * Little Brown Jug * Moonlight Serenade * Pennsylvania 6-5000 * Sing, Sing, Sing Pt. I * Sing, Sing, Sing Pt. II * Stompin' at the Savoy * Song of India.

  • Pennsylvania 6-5000  Composed by Jerry Gray;Lyrics by Carl Sigman
  • Song of India  Composed by Tommy Dorsey,Red Bone
  • Don't Be That Way  Additional credits Mitchell Parish,Benny Goodman,Edgar Sampson
  • Sing, Sing, Sing  Composed by Louis Prima;Additional credits Louis Prima
  • Moonlight Serenade (Instrumental)  Composed by Glenn Miller
  • Don't Get Around Much Anymore  Composed by Duke Ellington;Lyrics by Bob Russell
  • Stompin' at the Savoy (Instrumental Version)  Composed by Benny Goodman,Edgar Sampson,Chick Webb
  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 4

    Tucson, AZ
  • 2005-07-20 00:00:00.0 a good intermediate book

    This book has some cool songs. I've heard of some of them but some I haven't heard of. If you like big band style music, get this book. I've been playing for 3 and a half years so it is about right for me. Oh and it...

    helps if you play clarinet because a few songs have clarinet parts.

    Read More
    24 of 47 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

I am a music teacher.