World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Organ Pieces

By Felix Bartholdy Mendelssohn

Be the first! Write a Review

Composed by Felix Bartholdy Mendelssohn (1809-1847). Edited by Wolfgang Stockmeier. Arranged by Wolfgang Stockmeier. This edition: Paperback/Soft Cover. Sheet music. Henle Music Folios. Pages: V and 78. Classical. Softcover. G. Henle #HN426. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480426).

Item Number: HL.51480426

9.25x12.25 inches.

Apart from his organ sonatas, Felix Mendelssohn also composed numerous other works for the king of instruments. The present volume focuses on a selection of eight works from Mendelssohn's maturity, including the three 'Preludes and Fugues', op. 37. This group of works is, without exaggeration, one of the first important organ works of the 19th century, with which Mendelssohn heralded the second era of organ music after the baroque. The editor of this Urtext edition, organ specialist Wolfgang Stockmeier, explains in his extensive preface how Mendelssohn based his polyphonic works for keyboard instruments on Handel's, rather than on Bach's, compositional technique.

  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Three Preludes and Fugues op. 37 
  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Andante D major 
  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Fuga e minor 
  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Fuga f minor 
  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Prelude c minor 
  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Allegro B flat major 
  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Fughetta A major 
  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Postlude D major 
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.