World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


On the Shoulders of Giants

By Cantus Vocal Ensemble

Be the first! Write a Review

By Cantus Vocal Ensemble. CD. Published by MorningStar Music Publishers (MN.CD-74-CVE).

Item Number: MN.CD-74-CVE

Sir Isaac Newton famously said, "If I have seen further, it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." There are artists who have left an indelible mark in music with works that are both timeless and instantly recognizable. The newest release from Cantus, "On the Shoulders of Giants," celebrates the influence and inspiration of composers who have come before us. Including repertoire that spans nearly a thousand years from "Sederunt", one of the first known works of polyphony- to U2's "MLK," along with works by Sibelius, Mendelssohn, Schubert and Randall Thompson, Cantus delivers performances with its trademark warmth and blend.

Detailed Track Listing
1. Sederunt - Perotin
2. If Ye Love Me - Thomas Tallis
3. Cantate Domino - Hans Leo Hassler
4. Crucifixus - Claudio Monteverdi
5. O Vos Omnes - Tomas Luis de Victoria
6. MLK - U2, arr. Chilcott
7. Lift Thine Eyes - Felix Mendelssohn
8. The Finlandia Hymn - Jean Sibelius
9. Kaksikpuhendus: 1. Uhte laulu tahaks laulda - Veljo Tormis
10. Kaksikpuhendus: 2. Tahed - Veljo Tormis
11. Die Nacht - Franz Schubert
12. Die Rose stand im Tau - Robert Schumann
13. Zikr - A. R. Rahman, arr. Sperry
14. Esti Dal - Zoltan Kodaly
15. Alleluia - Randall Thompson
16. Hard Times Come Again No More - Stephen Foster, arr. Moore
17. Somewhere - Leonard Bernstein.

Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.