World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


My Age, My Wild Beast

Vocal Cycle on Texts by Osip Mandelstam

By Rodion Shchedrin

Be the first! Write a Review

Narrator, Tenor and Piano - difficult
Vocal Cycle on Texts by Osip Mandelstam. Composed by Rodion Shchedrin (1932-). This edition: Saddle stitching. Sheet music. Edition Schott. Classical. Softcover. Composed 2002. 54 pages. Duration 28'. Schott Music #ED9625. Published by Schott Music (HL.49033207).

Item Number: HL.49033207

9x12 inches. Russian - English - German.

With his opera 'The Dead Souls' (based on Gogol) and the ballets 'Anna Karenina' (based on Tolstoy), 'The Seagull' and 'Woman with a Little Dog' (both based on Chekov), Shchedrin has brought classic works of Russian literature onto the musical theatre stage. This song cycle in thirteen parts, which is almost a miniature oratorio, is a work conceived on a smaller scale. The words describe various stages in the life and death of the poet, represented by the tenor voice with piano, while the words spoken by the narrator - personified as Anna Achmatova - and also accompanied by the piano can be understood as a sort of commentary in a musical dialogue. The composer has succeeded in bringing these disparate elements together and unifying them in music that is deeply expressive.

  • Preludio 
  • A body was given to me - what am I to do with it 
  • Biographical Information 
  • My age, my wild beast! 
  • Recollections of a contemporary 
  • The flat - paper-thin silence 
  • Help me o Lord, through this night 
  • Petersburg, I'm not yet ready to die! 
  • I cannot hide from this vast chaos 
  • First arrest 
  • Guard my words forever - for their traces of misfortune and smoke 
  • Let me go, Voronezh, return me 
  • Lost am I in the skies (Epilog) 
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.