World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Missa B flat major Hob.XXII:14 'Harmony Mass'

By Franz Joseph Haydn

Be the first! Write a Review

Singing voice, SATB choir, orchestra (Chant, Mixed choir, Orchestra, Organ)
Composed by Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809). Edited by Friedrich Lippmann. This edition: urtext edition. Linen. Messen (Masses). Score. Hob. XXII:14. Duration 45 minutes. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA04659-01. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA04659-01).

Item Number: BA.BA04659-01

ISBN 9790201856025. 33 x 25.8 cm inches. Key: B-flat major. Text Language: Latin.

It is well known that Joseph Haydn wrote his late masses to the commission of his last employer, Prince Nicolaus II Esterhazy. The"Harmoniemesse"is the last of these high masses all of which probably received their first performances in celebration of the name-day of Princess Maria Josepha Hermenegild, the prince's wife. The present work was given for the first time on 8 September 1802 in the Bergkirche at Eisenstadt, Haydn himself conducting.

Haydn entitled his work simply"Missa". The work has acquired the name"Harmoniemesse"by reason of the prominent parts given to the wind instruments ("Harmonie"being a contemporary name for a wind band); the nickname did not become established until the late nineteenth century.

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- Includes an introduction with critical commentary explaining source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


See Similar Sheet Music and Digital Downloads

Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.