World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Metamorphoses for Bassoon
8 Pieces
By Leslie Bassett

Be the first! Write a Review

8 Pieces. Composed by Leslie Bassett (1923-). Bassoon (Solo). Edition Peters. Modern. Sheet. 20 pages. Duration circa 15 minutes. Edition Peters #98-EP67373. Published by Edition Peters (PE.EP67373).

Item Number: PE.EP67373

ISBN 9790300739021. English.

In each of its 8 movements, Leslie Bassett's Metamorphoses for solo bassoon takes a famous fragment from the orchestral bassoon literature as the basis for a musical transformation.

The sources are:

  • I. Stravinsky - Rite of Spring
  • II. Prokofiev - Peter & the Wolf
  • III. Tchaikovsky - Symphony No. 4
  • IV. Beethoven - Symphony No. 3
  • V. Beethoven - Symphony No. 1
  • VI. Beethoven - Symphony No. 8
  • VII. Scriabin - Poem of Ecstasy
  • VIII. Chabrier - Epana

Metamophoses was commissioned by friends, colleagues, and students of L. Hugh Cooper, Professor of Music (bassoon) at the University of Michigan, on the occasion of his retirement and in appreciation of this many contributions to performance, teaching, and research. The premiere performance was by Gwendolyn (Wendy) Rose at the University of Michigan on February 12, 1991, with immediate subsequent performances by Richard Beene.

Some fingerings and performance suggestions supplied by Mr. Cooper, Mr. Beene, and Ms. Rose are to be found in the work's index.

Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.