World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Little Women

Opera in Two Acts

By Mark Adamo

Be the first! Write a Review

Piano/Keyboard, Vocal
Opera in Two Acts. Composed by Mark Adamo. Vocal Score. Concert Music, Opera. 328 pages. G. Schirmer #ED4130. Published by G. Schirmer (HL.50483808).

Item Number: HL.50483808

ISBN 9780634020926. 9.0x12.0x0.779 inches.

Commissioned by the Houston Grand Opera for its Opera Studio, Mark Adamo's Little Women premiered on March 13, 1998. The opera's libretto (also written by Adamo and available for sale, HL50484155) adapts Louisa May Alcott's classic novel about four sisters who come of age just after the American Civil War. Exploring three central themes of the book, Adamo's opera focuses upon Jo March's resistance to the passage of time. Powerfully theatrical and musically sophisticated, Little Women notably contains a wealth of memorable melodies and tuneful arias. A compact disc recording of Houston Grand Opera's production is available on Ondine ODE 988-2D as well; the production was recently seen nationwide in a high-definition television broadcast produced by PBS.

  • Prologue 
  • Introduction: "Four little chests" 
  • Recit: "Laurie!" "The very same, madam" 
  • Aria: "Couldn't I unbake the breads" 
  • ACT I 
  • Scene 1 
  • Recit: "Barristers! It's quarter past" 
  • Anthem: "Again we meet to celebrate" 
  • Recit: "Major, minor" 
  • Ensemble: "Truth or Fabrication?" 
  • Recit: "Supper! Half an hour" 
  • Aria: "Perfect as we are" 
  • Scene 2 
  • Recit: "Rigmarole?" 
  • Aria: "There was a knight, once..." 
  • Recit: "Oh, this cannot be borne" 
  • Chorale/Scene 
  • Recit: "Our own Fanny Mendelssohn" 
  • Recit. "Mr. John Brooke" 
  • Interlude 
  • Aria: "Things change, Jo" 
  • Recit: "I understand" 
  • Scene 3 
  • Recit: "Aunt! Now, I haven't done any shading yet" 
  • Aria & Duet: "We stand together" 
  • Recit: "Jupiter Ammon!" 
  • Recit: "What is it, Laurie?" 
  • Duet: "Things change" 
  • ACT II 
  • Scherzo: "Cockling?" 
  • Ensemble: Letter Scene 
  • Nocturne 
  • Aria: "Kennst du das Land" 
  • Aria: "Do You Know the Land" 
  • Fantasia 
  • Recit: "She's asked for you" 
  • Aria: "Have peace, Jo" 
  • Chorale 
  • Scene 4 
  • Recit: "That's the trouble with solitaire" 
  • Aria & Duet: "Joy beyond measure, Mother" 
  • Recit: "She sounds very happy" 
  • Aria & Duet: "You, alone" 
  • Scene 5 
  • Soliloquy: "So the days go by" 
  • Aria & Quartet: "Let me look at you" 
  • Postlude 
  • "We stand together" 

Buy Together




We recommend purchasing
Little Women
Vocal Warm-Ups

Buy both for $94.99

[ { "catalogRefId":"4048180", "quantity":"1" }, { "catalogRefId":"6005443", "quantity":"1" } ]
AddtoCart Print
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.