World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Liszt - 6 Consolations 1St & 1850 Version Piano

Original Version and First Edition of the Early Version

By Franz Liszt

Be the first! Write a Review

This item will ship directly from our Australia warehouse!

Original Version and First Edition of the Early Version. Composed by Franz Liszt (1811-1886). Edited by Maria Eckhardt. Piano Solo, Piano & Keyboard, Repertoire, Solos. Consolations. Classical, Romantic. Softcover Book. 48 pages. G. Henle #HN465. Published by G. Henle (HU.HN465).

Item Number: HU.HN465

12.2 x 9.3 x 0.2 inches.

These six little piano pieces are among Liszts best-known works and arecomparatively easy to play a rarity amongst the composers often ecce ntric and virtuosic works. In 1844 Liszt had already begun work on the cycle that was only published in 1850. Although he had the pieces engraved, this version was never actually printed. He replaced no. 3, a precursor to the first Hungarian Rhapsody, with a piece in the style of a nocturne by Chopin (it can occasionally be heard as an encore at piano recitals), and he simplified the remaining numbers. In the second part of our edition we have reproduced the complete early version for the first time. Edited by Ernst-Gunter Heinemann and Maria Eckhardt with fingerings by Klaus Schilde.

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)

Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.