World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Konzert- und Charakterstuecke 2

By Felix-Alexandre Guilmant

Be the first! Write a Review

Composed by Felix-Alexandre Guilmant. Edited by Wolf Kalipp and Hans-Uwe Hielscher. This edition: urtext edition. Paperback. Felix-Alexandre Guilmant. Selected Organ Works VI \| BARENREITER URTEXT. Performance score, anthology. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA09253. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA09253).

Item Number: BA.BA09253

ISBN 9790006535682. 30 x 23.2 cm inches.

As with previous volumes, Volume VI of the Urtext Edition of Alexandre Guilmant's works presents a practical edition of selected works which have become famous in the international organ repertoire. The character pieces offer an insight into Guilmant's lively imagination and performing practice. With moderate technical demands, clarity of form, these works are ideal for both church and concert performance.

Short text:
Guilmant's eight organ sonatas are 'classics' in the French Romantic organ tradition and belong to the permanent repertoire of organists everywhere. His late organ sonatas in particular draw on the idiom of Beethoven, Mendelssohn and Schumann while paying homage to the Belle Epoque.

- First Urtext edition of Guilmant's organ works
- Well-known pieces in a practical performing edition
- Based on the latest research
- Detailed foreword (Ger/Eng), Critical Commentary (Ger/Eng) with list of sources

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- A Critical Commentary explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


  • Preface 

  • Felix-Alexandre Guilmant - A Biographical appreciation 
  • Stages in his life 
  • Music in the 19th century and Guilmant's organ works 
  • Concertante and Character Pieces 2 
  • Guilmant the teacher 
  • Guilmant the composer, soloist and editor 

  • Specifications 

  • Facsimiles 

  • Concertante and Character Pieces 2 
  • Premiere Meditation op. 20, No. 1 
  • Caprice op. 20, No. 3 
  • Madrigal op. 52, No. 3 
  • Priere op. 16, No. 2 
  • Verset. Fantaisie pour l'orgue op. 19, No. 5 
  • Priere et Berceuse [op. 27] op. 71, No. 3 
  • Communion op. 15, No. 1 
  • Pastorale [op. 26] op. 72, No. 3 
  • Fantaisie sur deux Melodies Anglaises op. 43 

  • Critical Report 
  • I. Abbreviations 
  • II. Editorial technique 
  • III. Sources 
  • IV. Detailed references 

  • Glossary 

  • Bibliography 
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.