World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Keys to Stylistic Mastery, Book 1

Be the first! Write a Review

Piano - Early Intermediate; Late Elementary
Book 1. Edited by Dennis Alexander and Ingrid Jacobson Clarfield. Graded Standard Repertoire; Masterworks; Piano Collection. Masterwork. Book. 56 pages. Alfred Music #00-21363. Published by Alfred Music (AP.21363).

Item Number: AP.21363

ISBN 9780739030271. English.

Keys to Stylistic Mastery teaches the basic principles of the five stylistic periods (Baroque, Classical, Romantic, Impressionist and Contemporary) to piano students. The 28 late-elementary to early-intermediate pieces were chosen to provide a helpful transition from method books to the classics. Composer Dennis Alexander has written at least one piece in the style of each period. Information about each style period, listing selected composers, keyboard instruments and typical forms, precedes the music from that period. Brief biographies of all composers represented are included.

  • The Shepherd's Flute  Additional credits Samuel Maykapar
  • Slovak Peasant's Dance  Composed by Béla Bartók
  • Temple Bells  Additional credits Dennis Alexander
  • Tender Thoughts  Additional credits Dennis Alexander
  • Waltz  Additional credits Emil Breslaur
  • Zany Zebras  Additional credits Dennis Alexander
  • Adagio   Additional credits Daniel Steibelt
  • Andantino  Composed by Igor Stravinsky
  • Aylesford Piece  Composed by George Frideric Handel
  • Bagatelle  Composed by Anton Diabelli
  • The Chinese Doll  Composed by Vladimir Rebikov
  • Chorale  Composed by Johann Sebastian Bach
  • Elegy  Additional credits Carl Reinecke
  • German Dance in G Major  Composed by Franz Joseph Haydn
  • Gigue  Additional credits Georg Philipp Telemann
  • Glistening Willows  Additional credits Dennis Alexander
  • Hungarian Folk Dance  Composed by Béla Bartók
  • Kanzonette in C Major  Additional credits Christian Gottlob Neefe
  • Little Piece   Composed by Robert Schumann
  • The Lonely Sparrow  Additional credits Dennis Alexander
  • March  Composed by Cornelius Gurlitt
  • March in G Major  Additional credits Dennis Alexander
  • Melody  Additional credits François Thomé
  • Melody in G Major  Composed by Carl Czerny
  • Menuet in D Minor  Additional credits Jean-Baptiste Lully
  • Menuett in A Minor  Additional credits Johann Philipp Krieger
  • Miniature Sonatina  Additional credits Dennis Alexander
  • Osaka Castle Gardens  Additional credits Dennis Alexander

Buy Together




Buy both for $33.98

[ { "catalogRefId":"4566523", "quantity":"1" }, { "catalogRefId":"2931625", "quantity":"1" } ]
AddtoCart Print
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.