World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Keyboard Works of Doubtful Authenticity for Keyboard Instruments

By Johann Sebastian Bach

Organ, piano, harpsichord
Composed by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750). Edited by Frieder Rempp and Ulrich Bartels. This edition: urtext edition. Paperback. Barenreiter Urtext. Performance score, anthology. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA05250. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA05250).

Item Number: BA.BA05250

ISBN 9790006536887. 31 x 24.3 cm inches.

A large number of works have survived bearing the name of Johann Sebastian Bach, the authenticity of which has been called into question on various occasions. This edition now combines all those pieces where Bach's authorship has been either verified by the musicologists at theNew Bach Editionor where there is a degree of certainty about this. The edition gathers together a range of different types of composition: as well as numerous preludes and fugues, there are toccatas, dance and concert works. Two adaptations after the violin solo sonatas BWV 1003 and 1005 are worth special mention. These two works demonstrate particularly clearly what applies to all the other works in this volume: whether Bach's authorship is doubtful or not, there is no question that this is a collection of fascinating music.

This performing edition corresponds to the complete edition volume of theNew Bach EditionBA 5296 (Series V, Vol. 12), published in 2006.

- Urtext based on theNew Bach Edition
- Numerous facsimile pages
- Foreword on the history of the works' genesis , transmission and on questions of authenticity(Ger/Eng)

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- A Critical Commentary explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


  • Preface 
  • Faksimilia / Facsimiles: Suite B-Dur BWV 821, Fantasie und Fuge B-Dur, BWV 907 
  • Sonate d-Moll BWV 964 
  • Suite B-Dur BWV 821 
  • Toccatina d-Moll bestehend aus / consulting of Praludium d-Moll BWV 899/1 
  • Fuge d-Moll BWV 900/02, Adagio und Presto a-Moll BWV 923a, 
  • Allegretto scherzando d-Moll BWV 844, Andante g-Moll BWV 969, Presto d-Moll BWV 970 
  • Scherzo e-Moll BWV 844a 
  • Fantasie und Fuge d-Moll BWV 905 
  • Fantasie und Fughetta B-Dur BWV 907 
  • Fantasie und Fughetta D-Dur BWV 908 
  • Konzert und Fuge c-Moll BWV 909 
  • Praludium c-Moll BWV 919 
  • Vier kleine Praludien BWV 939-942: 
  • Praludium 1 C-Dur BWV 939 
  • Praludium 2 d-Moll BWV 940 
  • Praludium 3 e-Moll BWV 941 
  • Praludium 4 a-Moll BWV 942 
  • Praludium C-Dur BWV 943 
  • Fuge a-Moll BWV 947 
  • Fuge B-Dur BWV 955 
  • Fuge B-Dur, FrŸhere Fassung / Earlier version, BWV 955a 
  • Fuge e-Moll BWV 956 
  • Fuge a-Moll BWV 958 
  • Sonate d-Moll BWV 964 (nach BWV 1003) 
  • Adagio G-Dur BWV 968 (nach BWV 1005/1) 
  • Sarabanda con Partite BWV 990 
  • Polonaise d-Moll (nach BWV 1067) 
  • Toccata f-Moll, Fassung A / Version A, BWV Anh. 85 
  • Toccata f-Moll, Emendierte Fassung B / Emended version B, BWV Anh. 85 
  • Fuge g-Moll BWV Anh. 101 
  • Praludium und Fuge Es-Dur BWV Anh. 177 
  • Fughetta d-Moll BWV deest 
  • Fantasie h-Moll BWV deest 
  • Menuet und Trio a-Moll BWV deest 
  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 5

    Difficulty Level:
  • October 06, 2019 Clearly Printed Collection of Doubtful Works

    Lots of music in this volume, most no longer attributed to J.S.Bach, by one of the world's top music publishers.

    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.