World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


John Renbourn In Concert 1990

By John Renbourn

Be the first! Write a Review

Guitar (fingerpicking)
Composed by John Renbourn. Boxed, Solos. Vestapol. All Styles. DVD. Duration 75 minutes. Published by Grossman's Guitar Workshop (MB.13048DVD).

Item Number: MB.13048DVD

ISBN 9781579409890. 5.25 x 7.5 inches.

John Renbourn's unique stylistic fusion of British folk music with elements of country blues, modern jazz, ragtime, classical and pre-Renaissance music has led to his becoming one of the foremost fingerstyle guitarists performing today. John explores all the facets of his music in this 75 minute solo concert, recorded 1990 in Toronto, Canada.

He plays a classic rock instrumental by Booker T. & The MGS and follows this with a gospel tuned learned from a recording by the great Bahamian guitarist, Joseph Spence. Traditional Irish melodies are played as easily as a jazz composition from the South African pianist, Dollar Brand. John Renbourn is a "complete guitarist" and a highly evolved musician. This video presents a rare night which combined great guitar playing, John's unique humor and a captivated full-house.

Titles include: Sweet Potato, Medley: Abide With Me/Great Dreams From Heaven, Lord Franklin, Little Niles, Lindsay, From Sandwood Down To Kyle, Medley: The South Wind/The Blarney Pilgrim, Kokomo Blues, Medley: Lament For Owen Roe O'Neill/Mist Covered Mountains Of Home/The Orphan, Medley: Bunyan's Hymn/I Saw Three Ships/The English Dance and Cherry.

  • Abide With Me (Medley)  
  • Bunyan's Hymn (Medley)  
  • From Sandwood Down to Kyle  
  • Great Dreams From Heaven (Medley)  
  • I Saw Three Ships (Medley)  
  • Kokomo Blues 
  • Lament For Owen Roe O'Neill (Medley)  
  • Lindsay  
  • Little Niles 
  • Lord Franklin 
  • Mist Covered Mountains of Home (Medley)  
  • Sweet Potato  
  • The Blarney Pilgrim (Medley)  
  • The English Dance and Cherry (Medley)  
  • The Orphan (Medley)  
  • The South Wind(Medley)  
Close X

I am a music teacher.