World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


John McGann's Developing Melodic Variations on Fiddle Tunes

Guitar Edition

By John McGann

Be the first! Write a Review

Guitar (flatpicking) - Intermediate
Guitar Edition. Composed by John McGann. Perfect binding, Improvisation. Bluegrass & Country. Book/CD Set. Published by Mel Bay Publications, Inc (MB.98556BCD).

Item Number: MB.98556BCD

ISBN 9780786650989. 8.5 x 10.75 inches.

This book presents standard fiddle tunes in basic form, then shows you how, on a phrase-by-phrase basis, the tunes can become vehicles for your own improvisations. It is designed to open the door to creating spontaneous variations, or improvisations, based on the melodic structure unique to each tune. Each tune in the book is presented first in its basic form, then with four variations. The variations are printed directly beneath the melody with the corresponding measures aligned, so that you can easily compare them to the original melody and to each other. The accompanying CD features the lead guitar and rhythm guitar on separate channels, so you can turn off the lead and play along with the rhythm, or vice versa.

  • Flop Eared Mule 
  • Old Joe Clark 
  • Soldier's Joy 
  • Whiskey Before Breakfast 
  • Billy in the Lowground 
  • Forked Deer 
  • Blackberry Blossom 
  • Salty Dog 
  • Arkansas Traveler 
  • Ragtime Annie 
  • Fisher's Hornpipe 
Close X

I am a music teacher.