World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


J.S. Bach: Magnificat & Christmas Cantata

By Dunedin Consort; Joanne Lunn; Julia Doyle; Clare Wilkinson; Nicholas Mulroy; Matthew Brook; John Butt

Be the first! Write a Review

By Dunedin Consort; Joanne Lunn; Julia Doyle; Clare Wilkinson; Nicholas Mulroy; Matthew Brook; John Butt. By Johann Sebastian Bach; Giovanni Gabrieli. Classical. Hybrid SACD. Published by Linn Records (NX.CKD469).

Item Number: NX.CKD469

This is the premiere recording of J.S. Bach's Magnificat heard for the first time within its original liturgical context, alongside the beautiful Christmas Cantata. Dunedin Consort recreates Bach's first Christmas at Leipzig (Vespers in the Nikolaikirche, 25 December 1723); the recording opens with a Gabrieli motet and includes organ preludes and a seasonal congregational chorale. Director John Butt has given listeners an interpretation that will provide a refreshing outlook on this masterpiece and will show the Magnificat in a completely new light. This recording marks the return of Dunedin Consort's star-studded cast including, Nicholas Mulroy, Matthew Brook, Joanne Lunn and Clare Wilkinson plus newcomer Julia Doyle. Butt's liturgical reconstruction of Bach's John Passion was named a 'Critics' Choice' by BBC Radio 3 'CD Review' and Gramophone, as well as being named 'Recording of the Month' by three publications. The Dunedin Consort has established a reputation as one of the finest period performance choirs around, under the direction of prize-winning historical performance specialist John Butt OBE. The multi-award-winning Dunedin Consort has won praise for the natural style of its soloists and renown for the virtuosity of its singers. In addition to a GRAMMY nomination, Dunedin Consort has won two Gramophone Awards: the 2007 'Baroque Vocal' Award for 'Handel: Messiah' and the 2014 'Choral' Award for 'Mozart: Requiem'. Further accolades include: Esther was voted one of the 'Top 10 Classical Albums of 2012' by The Times, 2011 saw them included in Gramophone's 'Twenty Greatest Choirs' list and its recording of Bach's Matthew Passion was named Building A Library: First Choice by BBC Radio 3 'CD Review', whilst Six Brandenburg Concertos was named Gramophone 'Choice' and awarded five stars by both BBC Music Magazine and The Guardian.

  • Organ Prelude: Vom Himmel kam, BWV 607 
  • Motet: Hodie Christus natus est a8  Composed by Giovanni Gabrieli
  • Organ Prelude: Gott, durch deine Gute, BWV 600 
  • Cantata: Christen, atzet diesen Tag, BWV 63 
  • Organ Prelude: Vom Himmel hoch, BWV 606 
  • Congregational Chorale: Vom Himmel hoch 
  • Organ Prelude: Der Tag, der ist so freudenreich, BWV 605 
  • Congregational Pulpit Hymn: Ein Kindelein so loebelich 
  • Organ Prelude: Fuga sopra il Magnificat, BWV 733 
  • Magnificat in E flat major, BWV 243a 
  • Responsory, Collect, Blessing and Response to Blessing 
  • Organ Prelude: Puer natus in Bethlehem, BWV 603 
  • Congregational Chorale: Puer natus in Bethlehem 
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.