World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Intermediate Tenor Solos

By George Shirley

Be the first! Write a Review

By George Shirley. By Various. Sheet music. Music Minus One. Classical. Softcover with CD. Music Minus One #MMO4048. Published by Music Minus One (HL.400596).

Item Number: HL.400596

ISBN 9781596155329. 9x12.25 inches.

Performed by George Shirley, tenor

Accompaniment: Wayne Sanders, piano

Tenors who have begun to explore a slightly more diverse palette of music will find tremendous use in this master class, a broad collection of contest solos, as performed by George Shirley, and then by you, the soloist. Includes a high-quality printed vocal score annotated with performance suggestions and a compact disc with complete versions (with soloist) followed by stereo accompaniments to each piece, minus the soloist. Includes: Mendelssohn, Felix – Elias (Elijah), op. 70: 'Be thou faithful' • Rachmaninov, Sergei – In the Silence of Night • Massenet, Jules (m); Silvestre, Armand (l) – Crépuscule (after Armand Silvestre) • Dello Joio, Norman (m) – There Is a Lady Sweet and Kind (after an Elizabethan poem) • Swanson, Howard (m); Hughes, Langston (l) – Night Song (after Langston Hughes) • Leoncavallo, Ruggero – Mattinata.

  • Elias (Elijah), op. 70: 'Be thou faithful'  Performed by Felix Bartholdy Mendelssohn
  • In the Silence of Night  Performed by Sergei Rachmaninov
  • Crepuscule (after Armand Silvestre)  Performed by Jules Massenet (m); Armand Silvestre (l)
  • There Is a Lady Sweet and Kind (after an Elizabethan poem)  Performed by Norman Dello Joio (m)
  • Night Song (after Langston Hughes)  Performed by Howard Swanson (m); Langston Hughes (l)
  • Mattinata  Performed by Ruggiero Leoncavallo
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.