World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Impromptus op. 90 D 899, op. post. 142 D 935

By Franz Schubert

Composed by Franz Schubert (1797-1828). This edition: urtext edition. Paperback. Barenreiter Urtext. Replaces BA 5611. Performance score, anthology. Opus 90. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA09648. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA09648).

Item Number: BA.BA09648

ISBN 9790006539536. 31 x 24.3 cm inches. Language: German/English. Preface: Dürr, Walther.

In autumn 1827 Schubert composed eight Impromptus for publication as a complete collection by Haslinger in Vienna. When the plan fell through, Schubert offered his Impromptus to Schott as pieces which could be issued individually or all four together”. The name of the works probably originated from the publisher Haslinger and Schubert also used it for his collection published later as op. posth. 142. The lyrical-romantic works are suitable for advanced piano students and have the character of sonata movements. Robert Schumann who regarded them as parts of a four-movement sonata, drew attention to the second collection published by Diabelli in 1839 in his review.

For the first time this scholarly-critical Urtext edition presents the musical text of the New Schubert Edition in new engraving and with optimum page-turns. The fingering takes essential aspects of performance practice of Schubert’s time as well as performance on the modern concert grand piano into consideration.
A detailed foreword, suggestions for performance and notes on the evaluation of the primary sources complete the edition.

- Scholarly-critical editions based on the Urtext of the New Schubert Edition, taking all known sources into account
- Newly engraved editions with optimum page-turns
- With fingering and suggestions for performance (Ger/Eng) by Mario Aschauer
- With a detailed foreword (Ger/Eng) and critical commentary (Eng)

Mario Aschauer
studied piano, historical keyboard instruments, conducting and musicology in Linz, Salzburg and Vienna. He performs as a soloist and chamber musician, with groups including the Austrian Calamus Consort, presenting a wide-ranging repertoire on fortepiano, harpsichord and organ.

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- Includes an introduction with critical commentary explaining source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 5

    Pittsfield, MA
    Difficulty Level:
  • February 19, 2018 Schubert sings

    First off, I am a really big fan of Schubert so I may be biased in my regard for this very important composer. His Impromptus hold a very special place in the world of classical music. The book itself is typical excellent Barenreiter stock, the binding, the pages, the print...

    , etc. Compositionally these Impromptus are melodic, romantic and singing!

    Read More
    1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.