World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Fantasy Pieces Op. 2 for Oboe and Piano

Oboe and Piano

By Carl August Nielsen

Be the first! Write a Review

Wind Instruments Oboe, Piano Accompaniment (Oboe and Piano)
Oboe and Piano. Composed by Carl August Nielsen (1865-1931). Edited by Christin Heitmann. Arranged by Klaus Schilde. Sheet Music. Paperbound. Henle Music Folios. TCL 2016 Grade: 6, 7. Classical. Softcover. 16 pages. G. Henle #HN1131. Published by G. Henle (HL.51481131).

Item Number: HL.51481131

ISBN 9790201811314. 9.25x12.25 inches.

Carl Nielsen's Fantasy Pieces for oboe and piano were composed in 1889/90. Having just gained a position as a violinist in the Royal Danish Orchestra, Nielsen had already experienced success with his String Suite Op. 1 both as a composer and as a conductor. Several sketches and autographs bear witness to his intensive work on these contrasting pieces for oboe, which were to appear in 1890 as his Opus 2. The two movements, Romance and Humoreske, are dedicated to the oboist Olivo Krause who played in the royal orchestra. His beautiful tone and virtuosic technique probably played no small part in the fact that these miniatures by the “young, talented composer” took the public and critics by storm at their first performance in March 1891.

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)

Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.