World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Encore Pieces for Woodwind Quintet, Volume 1 - Oboe


By Henry Aaron

Woodwind quintet Woodwind Quintet
Oboe. Arranged by Henry Aaron. Houston Publishing. Classical. Performance part. 24 pages. Houston Publishing #HB07. Published by Houston Publishing (HL.30065).

Item Number: HL.30065

ISBN 9780793574421. 8.5x11 inches.

This wonderful collection of Woodwind Quintet Encores was originally arranged for the Chicago Symphony Woodwind Quintet whose members included: Ralph Johnson, Robert Mayer, Jerome Stowall, Philip Farkas, and Wilbur Simpson. Serveral of these selections were recorded by the Chicago Symphony Woodwind Quintet album entitled 'ENCORE!' (Audiophile AP17). Absolutely perfect for concert or contest.

  • HUMERSQUE   Composed by Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky
  • GIRL WITH THE FLAXEN HAIR   Composed by Claude Debussy
  • Capriccio  Composed by Franz Joseph Haydn
  • DIARY OF A FLY   Composed by Bela Bartok
  • Scarf Dance  Composed by Cecile Chaminade
  • In Autumn  Composed by Edward MacDowell
  • SCHERZO IN E MINOR   Composed by Felix Bartholdy Mendelssohn
  • Polka  Composed by Dmitri Shostakovich
  • Norwegian Dance  Composed by Edvard Grieg
  • GOPAK   Composed by Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky
  • FUNERAL MARCH OF THE MARIONETTE   Composed by Charles Francois Gounod
  • TRITCH-TRATSCH POLKA   Composed by J Strauss
  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 2

    Coarsegold, CA
    Difficulty Level:
  • February 08, 2013 Encore Pieces Volume #1

    These pieces are by famous artists, but many are discordant rather than melodious. Yet, several are fun to play, we all loved GOPAK by Moussorgorsky. There are a few typos, easily identified. I will not purchase any additional volumes of this set.

    6 of 12 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.