World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Concerto for Pianoforte and Orchestra Nr. 4 op. 58 (arranged for Pianoforte and String Quintet)

arranged for Pianoforte and String Quintet

By Ludwig van Beethoven

Be the first! Write a Review

Piano, 2 violins, 2 violas, cello (piano, 2 violins, 2 violas, cello) - Level 3
Arranged for Pianoforte and String Quintet. Composed by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827). Edited by Jonathan Del Mar. This edition: urtext edition. Paperback. Barenreiter Urtext. Score, set of parts. Opus 58, No. 4. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA09034. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA09034).

Item Number: BA.BA09034

ISBN 9790006559831. 31 x 24.3 cm inches. Language: German/English. Preface: Jonathan Del Mar.

This anonymous sextet arrangement of Beethoven's Fourth Piano Concerto was highly popular in Vienna during the composer's lifetime.
We know this from at least two sets of handwritten parts which were then in circulation.

No piano part has been handed down; indeed, the original sets of parts probably omitted the piano.
The soloist presumably studied his part from the first edition of the solo part, published with the original performance material in 1808. (The full score did not appear until 1861).

The sextet version deftly integrates the original wind parts into the string texture.
The arrangement stands in the tradition of piano reductions with chamber music accompaniment, of the sort which were also made for Mozart's piano concertos K. 413 to 415 and later for the Chopin concertos.

This Urtext edition, edited by the renowned Beethoven scholar Jonathan Del Mar, presents this arrangement for the first time in print.
The musical text is supplemented by an informative Introduction and a Critical Commentary.

* First ever publication of this arrangement
* Includes a separate solo part as was customary in Beethoven's day
* Provides new possibilities for soloists to perform this work

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- Includes an introduction with critical commentary explaining source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


Buy Together




Buy both for $74.94

[ { "catalogRefId":"20162530", "quantity":"1" }, { "catalogRefId":"20074878", "quantity":"1" } ]
AddtoCart Print
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.