World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Concerto for Pianoforte and Orchestra Nr. 3 C minor op. 37

By Ludwig van Beethoven

2 piano
Composed by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827). Edited by Jonathan Del Mar. Arranged by Martin Schelhaas. This edition: urtext edition. Paperback. Barenreiter Urtext. Piano reduction, part(s). Opus 37, No. 3. 56/48 pages. Duration 34 minutes. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA09023-90. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA09023-90).

Item Number: BA.BA09023-90

ISBN 9790006523016. 31 x 24.5 cm inches. Key: Key: c minor. Text Language: English/German.

Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 3 is the only concerto where no authentic manuscript exists for the solo part. The autograph of the score is available whereby the articulation, dynamics and pedal markings are for the most part absent. However, Beethoven oversaw the first printed edition of the solo part (1804) with great diligence. Plate corrections bear witness to the care with which Beethoven placed slurs and pedal markings in order to be consistent and unambiguous.
By means of a thorough examination of the sources this new Urtext edition presents many corrections in terms of articulation, dynamics and notes. In particular, the orchestral parts have been corrected for the first time since Beethoven's lifetime.

* Urtext edition reflecting the latest musicological research
* With many corrections in the solo part and orchestral parts
* Piano reduction with a separate solo piano part
* A must for pianists, orchestras and Beethoven scholars

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- A Critical Commentary explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 5

    Jessica from Melbourne
    Difficulty Level:
  • 2016-10-09 04:37:56.0 Beautiful Concerto

    This Concerto is for the masters pianists, very difficult to play but absolutely beautiful. I bought this for my mother who is a music teacher. Her former student who is one of those kids with an extreme musical talent is going to play this so she wanted to see the...

    music notes to be able to help him with the practice. As for the actual music notes I have to say they are the very best quality, beautifully printed. Thank you.

    Read More
    One person found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.