World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Concerto for Piano and Orchestra G Major K.453

Reduction for 2 Pianos, 4 Hands

By Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Piano Piano, 2 Pianos, 4 Hands (2 Pianos, 4-hands) - SMP Level 10 (Advanced)
Reduction for 2 Pianos, 4 Hands. Composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791). Edited by Stephan Horner. Sheet Music. Paperbound. Henle Music Folios. Pages: VI and 52. Classical. Softcover. 54 pages. G. Henle #HN765. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480765).

Item Number: HL.51480765

ISBN 9790201807652. 9.25x12.25 inches.

This piano concerto by Mozart presented here inaugurate an ambitious project at Henle Publishers: in the coming years many of the Salzburg master's 23 piano concertos will be published in completely new Urtext editions. And none other than Andras Schiff is collaborating with us. His piano reductions are aimed at amateurs rather than professionals; his fingerings for Mozart's solo part have been exquisitely fine-tuned and are inspiring; and where Mozart's original cadenzas are missing, Schiff's stylistically perfected ones have been included. In so doing we aspire to set a new precedent. The quality is not only guaranteed by Andras Schiff, but also by the Mozart scholars to whom Henle Publishers have entrusted their Urtext editions. Each work is edited by a specialist, according to predetermined editorial guidelines. First and foremost Mozart's handwritten scores have been consulted, being the most important sources. In some cases these had not yet been available when preparing previous editions. Moreover, we know today that in addition to Mozart's own manuscripts, early copies in parts and prints also contain important information regarding the musical text. A co-production with Breitkopf & Hartel, Mozart's piano concertos are not only available as attractive and affordable piano reductions, there are also an accompanying Urtext conductor's score, orchestral parts and a study score. This will ensure that this lavish new edition can be used in many different contexts: whether studying the solo part in a definitive Urtext edition, which reflects the latest research findings; or playing together with a second pianist, providing a piano reduction which not only sounds superb but is also easy to play; or studying and reading the pocket score and finally performing with an orchestra, using newly-prepared material. This is a truly fitting project inauguration for the Mozart Year 2006.

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)

About SMP Level 10 (Advanced)

Very advanced level, very difficult note reading, frequent time signature changes, virtuosic level technical facility needed.

  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 5

    Dr. JB
    Stuart, FL
    Difficulty Level:
  • June 12, 2012 the genius of Mozart

    The G Major Concerto is one the great concerti written by one of the greatest genius' the world has ever known. Joy is the word that captures the effervescent nature of this concerto. As with all of the masterful concerti written by Mozart, this concerto makes all the demands on...

    the pianist for technique, musicality, singing tone, and a joyous spirit to play it successfully . The slow movement is inspired, and the last movement with its variations is pure fun. This is a must-know for every serious student of the piano.

    Read More
    10 of 18 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
  • 5

    Difficulty Level:
  • June 20, 2008 Excellent piece, best edition.

    One of Mozart's better concertos, and among the easier ones as well. Henle is well known as one of the finest editions available.

    22 of 39 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.