World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Blurred Boundaries

By Anabel Ramirez

Be the first! Write a Review

By Anabel Ramirez, Apollo Chamber Players (Matthew J. Detrick, Ismail Lumanovski, Matthew Dudzik), Matthew McClung, Timothy Pitts, and Whitney Bullock. By Erberk Eryilmaz, Hajime Komatsu, Henry Thacker Burleigh, Marty Regan, Libby Larsen (1950-), and Florence Beatrice Price. Classical. Listening CD. Published by Navona Records (NX.NV6038).

Item Number: NX.NV6038

Apollo Chamber Players' present their latest Navona release BLURRED BOUNDARIES, featuring commissions from veteran composers Libby Larsen and Marty Regan, as well as from the winner of Apollo's inaugural International Commissioning Contest, Erberk Eryilmaz. These three commissions mark the beginning of 20x2020, Apollo's initiative to commission 20 new folk music-inspired works by the end of the decade. Each of these composers explores culturally-specific musical traditions and presents folk material in ways that are engaging, unique, and revelatory. Larsen's Sorrow Song and Jubilee revisits Antonin Dvorak's love of African-American sorrow songs (or spirituals), composed as an homage to the creative partnership of African-American composer Henry T. Burleigh and Dvorak. Regan's sweeping Splash of Indigo examines the intersections of Japanese folksong and French Impressionist music. Eryilmaz's whirlwind Thracian Airs of Besime Sultan, dedicated to his late grandmother, finds its inspiration in the music of the Roma people and the Thracian region of the Balkans. Accompanying these three modern explorations of folksong are premiere recordings of Florence Beatrice Price's Five Folksongs in Counterpoint, Hajime Komatsu's Four Japanese Folksongs, and arrangements of Henry T. Burleigh's Plantation Melodies, Old and New. These are ideal companion pieces, highlighting not only the commissioned composers' skills in forging different pathways between cultures, but also Apollo's aim to provide fresh context and a contemporary perspective on more traditional repertoire.

About Listening CDs

Listening CDs are traditional music recordings. Listening CDs make a great educational supplement - hear exceptional professionals play the music you're learning! Or, just enjoy listening to the music you love.

  • 01. Sorrow Song and Jubilee  Composed by Libby Larson
  • 02-03. Plantation Melodies, Old and New  Composed by Henry Thacker Burleigh;Arranged by Apollo Chamber Players
  • 04-08. Five Folksongs in Counterpoint  Composed by Florence Beatrice Price
  • 09. Thracian Airs of Besime Sultan  Composed by Erberk Eryılmaz
  • 10-13. Four Japanese Folk Songs (Suite No. 2)  Composed by Hajime Komatsu
  • 14. Splash of Indigo  Composed by Marty Regan
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.