World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Axel Borup-Jorgensen: Piano Music

By Erik Kaltoft

Be the first! Write a Review

By Erik Kaltoft. By Axel Borup-Jorgensen (1924-). Classical. Hybrid super audio listening CD. Published by Naxos (NX.6220616).

Item Number: NX.6220616

Axel Borup-Jorgensen lived a quiet life as a composer, piano teacher and avid concert-goer. Never attached to an academic post or, active as a performing musician, he thrived as a beloved outsider, continuing to develop his intensely personal style until his death on 15 October 2012. A meticulous modernist, who worked towards an ever-increasing clarity, his music is characterized by its concentrated language and fine graduation of expression. Despite being a competent pianist, Borup-Jorgensen's output for the instrument was surprisingly small, but he wrote for the instrument throughout his entire career. The works on this program represent an overview of his works for solo piano, spanning nearly fifty years, from the early Passacaglia for piano Op. 2b (1948) to the crystalline raindrop interludes Op. 144 (1994). Borup-Jorgensen's writing for the piano is remarkably consistent, favoring exquisitely crafted phrases over virtuoso displays, but this music is by no means simple; these incredibly detailed scores require the utmost concentration from the player! Erik Kaltoft is the ideal interpreter for this demanding repertoire. Boasting an impressive resume as a contemporary music specialist, with the first performances of more than 200 works by such composers as Per Norgård, Gunnar Berg and Bent Lorentzen to his credit, Kaltoft was also the composer's friend and frequent collaborator for almost 45 years. For those listeners seeking an entry point into Borup-Jorgensen's musical universe, Kaltoft's deeply sympathetic interpretations reveal the jewel-like precision, and passionate nature-mysticism to be found in his work. Also available from OUR Recordings are: The Recorder Music, featuring Michala Petri and Elisabet Selin (8.226910) and Percussion Universe, featuring Gert Mortensen (6.220608). Coming in October are world premiere recordings of Borup-Jorgensen's organ music and chamber works featuring Jens E. Christensen, Mahan Esfahani and Mathias Reumert amongst others (6.220617). Recorded in the DXD audio format (Digital eXtreme Defination) 352.8 kHz/32 bit, by Danish Grammy nominated producer Preben Iwan.

About Listening CDs

Listening CDs are traditional music recordings. Listening CDs make a great educational supplement - hear exceptional professionals play the music you're learning! Or, just enjoy listening to the music you love.

  • 01. "Thalatta! Thalatta!" 
  • 02. Marine skitser 
  • 03. Winter Pieces 
  • 04. Sommer intermezzi 
  • 05. Passacaglia for Klaver 
  • 06. Regndrabe interludier 
  • 07. Epigrammer 
  • 08. Miniaturesuite 
  • 09. Praeludier for Klaver 
  • Phantasiestuck for Celesta 
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.