World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


A Purcell Organ Album

By Henry Purcell

Be the first! Write a Review

Solo organ (Solo) - BC
Composed by Henry Purcell (1659-1695). Arranged by Martin Setchell. Organ (Solo). Sheet Music. 64 pages. Oxford University Press #9780193365698. Published by Oxford University Press (OU.9780193365698).

Item Number: OU.9780193365698

ISBN 9780193365698. 311x232mm inches.

This is a marvellous collection of pieces by Henry Purcell newly arranged for the organ by concert organist Martin Setchell. Purcell's music works perfectly on the organ, and a number of his pieces have long been popular with players. This volume brings together all those must-have pieces - the trumpet tunes, rondeau from Abdelazer, and so on - and combines these with a wonderful selection of lesser-known pieces from across Purcell's work. There are sprightly curtain tunes and hornpipes from the stage pieces, lovely reflective songs and airs, and a wide range of dances and chaconnes. The result is a set of pieces with wide and varied church and concert use, perfectly accessible to intermediate players. Publication in 2009 coincides with the 350th anniversary of the composer's birth, and the volume makes a valuable addition to any organist's repertoire.

  • A wonderful collection of pieces by Purcell, newly arranged for solo organ
  • Valuable addition to the organ repertoire
  • Mixture of well-known and less well-known pieces
  • Pieces of intermediate difficulty (Associated Board Grades 5-6)
  • Suitable for a wide range of concert and church service uses

  • Trumpet tunes 
  • Symphony To Act V, From The Fairy Queen 
  • Trumpet Air, From The Indian Queen 
  • Trumpet Tune: Act V Consort, From King Arthur 
  • Trumpet Tune, From Dioclesian 
  • Trumpet Tune 
  • Trumpet Tune, Called The Cibell 
  • Trumpet Tune: Warlike Consort, From King Arthur 
  • Trumpet Tune, From The Indian Queen 
  • Airs And Dances 
  • Symphony And Chorus, From Come Ye Sons Of Art 
  • If Love's A Sweet Passion, From The Fairy Queen 
  • How Blest Are Shepherds, From King Arthur 
  • Shepherd, Shepherd Leave Decoying, From King Arthur 
  • Fairest Isle, From King Arthur 
  • When I Am Laid In Earth, From Dido And Aeneas 
  • Air, From King Arthur 
  • Here's The Summer, Sprightly, Gay, From The Fairy Queen 
  • Hornpipe, From Amphitryon 
  • Bourree, From Amphitryon 
  • Third Act Tune: Rondeau, From Abdelazar 
  • Minuett, From The Double Dealer 
  • Aire: Second Music, From Bonduca 
  • Round Thy Coast, From King Arthur 
  • Air, From The Fairy Queen  Composed by Second Act Tune
  • First Act Tune: Jig, From The Fairy Queen 
  • Dance For The Fairies, From The Fairy Queen 
  • Rondeau, From The Fairy Queen 
  • Dance For Chinese Man And Woman, From The Fairy Queen  Composed by Chaconne
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.