World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


A Perfect Union

Compact Disc - the Washington Winds

By Various

Concert Band
Compact Disc - the Washington Winds. Composed by Various. Carl Fischer Concert Band Recordings. Audio CD. With Standard notation. Composed February 20 2000. Duration 51 minutes, 55 seconds. Carl Fischer #CFD0001. Published by Carl Fischer (CF.CFD1).

Item Number: CF.CFD1

ISBN 082584035X.

The Carl Fischer heritage of publishing fine band music has been a fact of music publishing almost since the firm's founding in 1872. With a huge and expanding repertoire to draw on, it is a logical step for Fischer to issue a series of compact discs of band music for sale. With this release, the Carl Fischer Media Group begins what we intend to be the annual release of a recording devoted to classic band music. Bleecker Street Records is the name of the label developed for this purpose and A Perfect Union is our first commercial CD. It contains first-rate performances of classic original works for upper grade band such as Canzona by Peter Mennin, editions of celebrated transcriptions such as Procession of the Nobles in an edition by Van Ragsdale of the classic Eric Leidzen arrangement of Rimsky Korsakov's original and Robert Foster's edition of Henry Fillmore's celebrated transcription of Von Suppe's Light Cavalry Overture. Also included are terrific pieces by Daron Aric Hagen, Larry Clark, Quincy C. Hilliard and Elliot Del Borgo. The performances by the Washington and show the music and the players to best advantage. This will be a recording to own and treasure. Winds under the inspired direction of Edward Petersen, are invigorating.

  • Carizona  Performed by Peter Mennin
  • Procession of the Nobles  Performed by Nikolai Rimsky Korsakov
  • Ginger Marmalade  Performed by Warren Benson
  • British Eighth  Performed by Zo Elliott
  • Suddenly  Performed by Daron Hagen
  • A More Perfect Union  Performed by Larry Clark
  • Universal Covenant  Performed by Quincy C. Hilliard
  • Christmas Variants  Performed by Elliot Del Borgo
  • His Honor  Performed by Henry Fillmore
  • Light Cavalry Overture  Performed by Franz Von Suppe
  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 4

    West Coast Band Man
    Tacoma, WA
    Difficulty Level:
  • 2010-12-07 00:00:00.0 SUDDENLY is the STANDOUT!

    This is a fine promotional CD produced by Carl Fischer of works in their catalogue. Most are simply knock-off Grade 2-4 stuff written specifically for high school bands, but the Hagen work stands out as a work that in no way patronizes a fine high school or college...

    band director or his / her players.

    Read More
    16 of 30 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.