World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


A. Mosolov: Complete Works for Solo Piano

By Olga Andryushchenko

Be the first! Write a Review

By Olga Andryushchenko. By Alexander Mossolov. Classical. 2 listening CDs. Published by Naxos (NX.GP703-704).

Item Number: NX.GP703-704

Alexander Vasilyevich Mossolov was one of the most prominent Soviet experimentalist composers of the 1920s. Famed for his futurist orchestral piece The Iron Foundry, this 'constructivist' began to forge new directions through his use of motor rhythms, percussive attacks, and melodic angularity. He earned the admiration of Prokofiev but was eventually stifled by the dictates of Socialist Realism. Imprisoned for eight months in 1937, he later sank into obscurity and never regained his pre-war position. The dominant musical influence on the young avant-garde Alexander Vasilyevich Mossolov, not least in the piano Nocturnes, was Alexander Scriabin. The debt is clear in the music of the 1920s, a period when Mossolov was free to compose without hindrance from the authorities. The Sonatas are dramatic and almost symphonic in texture - modernist works of wide expressive power and visceral intensity that show him to have been one of the boldest and most complex composers of his time.

About Listening CDs

Listening CDs are traditional music recordings. Listening CDs make a great educational supplement - hear exceptional professionals play the music you're learning! Or, just enjoy listening to the music you love.

  • Disc 1 
  • 01. Sonata No. 1 in C minor, Op. 3 
  • 02-03. 2 Nocturnes, Op. 15 
  • 04-06. 3 Small Pieces, Op. 23a 
  • 07-08. 2 Dances, Op. 23b 
  • 09-11. Piano Sonata No. 2 in B minor, Op. 4 "From Old Notebooks" 
  • Disc 2 
  • 01. Piano Sonata No. 4, Op. 11 
  • 02-04. Turkmenian Nights - Phantasy for Piano 
  • 05-08. Piano Sonata No. 5 in D minor, Op. 12 
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.